Skip to content

Piet Oudolph Planting Genius

August 13, 2015

HandWAug1502 (2)

We made another trip to the Hauser and Wirth Gallery in Bruton Somerset this week and as expected the planting was stunning.

DSCN5147 DSCN5148

DSCN5151

DSCN5156
DSCN5157

A beautifully illustrated planting plan relating to each bed is available in the gallery shop making it possible to identify every plant and every plant combination.

On the allotment Maris Piper potatoes are a great additional spud to my favourite Charlottes.  They’ve grown large enough to bake and they keep their shape when steamed for potato salad. And the beetroot Golden Burpee has an exceptionally sweet flavour and is producing good size roots…

DSCN5129

The cut flowers this week are Scabious ‘Black Cat’ a gift from a friend and they’ve been very lovely. The seed is available from Sarah Raven…

DSCN5138

8 Comments leave one →
  1. August 13, 2015 12:44 pm

    Thanks for this, I so admire Piet Oudolf’s designs, I wish I lived in a climate where I could try to create something similar! Love the ‘Black Cat’; another to add to the SR wish list.

  2. August 13, 2015 12:54 pm

    I was thinking of you when I was there but I guessed you’d thoroughly researched what could survive in your part of Italy.

  3. August 14, 2015 8:19 am

    A lovely series of images of a very beautiful garden, thank you for sharing them with us.

    Your home grown veg looks delicious. I love the different colours & flavours of beetroot grown from seed (but not readily available in the shops). This is a good reminder to order some for next year ….

  4. August 14, 2015 9:03 am

    Golden Detroit is another sweet beetroot and one that I shall try next year.

  5. August 16, 2015 1:05 pm

    I would have loved that day out to Bruton. I just clicked your link – so, so beautiful, as usual. I might have to plan a holiday to Somerset… In the meantime, I hope to see (again) the garden Piet Oudolf designed for John Coke at Bury Court Barn near Alton in the next couple of weeks. The garden is opened for Plantsman Days on the last Wednesday of the month in the summer with a garden tour in the afternoon. My idea of heaven!

  6. August 16, 2015 4:04 pm

    The very first time I heard Piet Oudolph’s name was seeing the garden for John Coke at Bury Court. I still have photos (not digital because I guess it was 12 years ago) and looking at them the planting looks just as exciting as it does at Hauser and Wirth.Clever man.

  7. August 21, 2015 10:12 am

    Still haven’t made it to Hauser and Wirth. We never seem to have a free weekend. Family and friends are so spread out across the country our weekends are spent visiting which is lovely. I would love to see this place though.

  8. August 21, 2015 10:18 am

    You’d love it and there’s a very good restaurant and it’s near Frome which is brilliant for vintage shops.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.