Skip to content

In a Jam

October 14, 2011

My outdoor chilli plant, purchased as a pot plant from the supermarket in the summer, did really well. The small white flowers rapidly transformed into chillies that started off green then steadily ripened into dozens of shiny red chillies.  So waste not want not I decided to make chilli jam.  I followed a goddess recipe and all went well and the exact amount flowed gently into the four pots as predicted. The next day the jam had set like barley sugar and a spoon could not be persuaded to scoop out even the tiniest amount. Anyone have a solution?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 18, 2011 9:23 pm

    Oh dear, I had the same problem with my blackberry jelly. I can’t bear to throw it away. My rubber jam was caused by over cooking it beyond the setting point. I don’t know how to resolve it. I think it might be beyond help. I’ll keep an eye on your blog to see if anyone comes up with a miracle cure!

  2. October 25, 2011 3:27 am

    Hello! Someone in my Facebook group shared this site with us so I came to take a look. I’m definitely enjoying the information. I’m book-marking and will be tweeting this to my followers! Fantastic blog and outstanding design and style.

    • October 31, 2011 1:39 pm

      Hi Tracie

      I only just found you in my spam box but I instantly un-spamed you. Thanks for your lovely comments.

Leave a Reply

