Skip to content

Ornithogalum narbonense

October 20, 2011

This was my big summer treat- six huge and healthy pots of Ornithogalum narbonense to replace some sedums and to sit in front of the purple- leaved vine Vitis coignetiae.  It’s an excellent combination and I’ve had months of pleasure from these elegant green and white flowers.  They seem to glisten through the dusk – perhaps this is why they are known as Star of Bethlehem. The more I cut them for the house the more they put out new flower stems.  But I’m very aware they are frost-tender and I want them to return year after year. My plan was to cut them back to ground level in December and then to cover the plants with a thick mulch of organic compost but I am not sure I should wait eight more weeks.   I looked out at the sky at 2am this morning and it was cloudless and full of enormous and stunningly beautiful stars.  Clearly a frost was close at hand so I will have to be vigilant and respond fast if the weather forecast is below zero.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 20, 2011 7:49 pm

    Never thought of using Ornithogalum as cut flowers, but they look absolutely gorgeous in your vase. One for the shopping list, and yes,temperatures seem to be plummeting this week after all thoses late warm days.

  2. October 20, 2011 8:21 pm

    And they last in the vase for about ten days.

  3. October 22, 2011 9:55 pm

    They are such beautiful flowers & they really shine in that dark vase, You have inspired me to get outside & pick some flowers from my tiny garden tomorrow (not as impressive as your gorgeous ornithogalums though…)
    Thanks for the comment you left on my blog- I didn’t grow my red cabbage so you have plenty to be proud of!

Leave a Reply

