Skip to content

More Thrift

November 7, 2011

I have decided to set myself a challenge to cut one bunch of flowers each week from the garden or allotment for 52 weeks- I may also have to raid the hedgerow on occasion. This is the first offering and it contains the wonderful ornithogalum (see previous post) which is still producing fabulous stems plus lamium, sweet box and arum.

I sometimes  make a Christmas decoration from the dried flower-heads of Hydrangea villosa. The flowers are less dense than other hydrangeas but the open form of the branches is lovely enough to carry a spray of silver.  By this time of year the flowers have faded from mauve to a mixture of bronze and soft lilac and they then pick up a bit of the silver spray. I will drape the surface of the marble fire surround with them and then dot candle night- lights in various decorative glasses in amongst them. Nearer the day I will post again to show how cool they look. The lovely dried flower- heads of other hydrangeas would work well sprayed or left as they are in all their autumn glory.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. November 7, 2011 3:54 pm

    I love that idea- I’m going to join in as best I can (with my tiny weeny doll’s pocket hankie garden). The dead nettle sets off the flowers beautifully…

  2. November 7, 2011 4:00 pm

    Yes and small posies really do give me as much pleasure as huge bouquets from the florist.

  3. November 10, 2011 6:39 pm

    Cor, now there’s a challenge. I’m going to give this a go too, although already struggling to think about what I’ll find this time of the year in the garden, and with no hedgerows about in Finsbury Park to save the day!

  4. November 12, 2011 6:23 pm

    Just found you via the lovely Thrifty Household. The hydrangea/candle Christmas combo sounds lovely. I cut flowers pretty much every week, but with only a small garden and no allotment hedgerows play a major part in the exercise. I’m thinking challenging myself to producing a photograph worthy arrangement every week might be rather fun. Can I join in?

    Shameless plug here, but I have a post about cut flowers up on knitsofacto at the moment and am hosting a giveaway of Vic Brotherson’s book, Vintage Flowers. I just thought it worth a mention as it seems like it might be your kind of thing 😀

    • November 13, 2011 10:05 am

      We love a shameless plug and yes you are very welcome to join the challenge. I hope it will encourage people to see a variety of winter plants and maybe then to find a space or two for new additions.

  5. julie permalink
    November 13, 2011 12:07 pm

    Just found you through thrifty household.I too am looking forward to gaining tips on brightening my mantle over Christmas.xxx

  6. November 13, 2011 2:48 pm

    I too love mini bouquets – even more than large ones, I think (which don’t come my way very often). Your idea is a lovely one, although where I live (Wisconsin) it would mean using an awful lot of twigs and pine cones until March brings a bit of leafery back to the landscape. Of course there are always dried cattails … and marsh grasses if I’m willing to climb out to get them … food for thought. Found you via Thrifty Household. I will follow your progress with interest! The hydrangea is beautiful.

  7. November 13, 2011 3:20 pm

    I LOVE this idea, I am travelling in the UK now ~ but as soon as I am home I will be foraging for flora in my garden in France!
    Karen

  8. November 14, 2011 10:04 am

    I try to do this but fail miserably at certain times of the year, though veg and herbs going to seed make pretty arrangements and some things can last a couple of weeks provided I can put up with a little gentle decay. At the moment my arrangement is rosehips and parsley flowers; there’s a pic on my blog. Another shameless plug from someone who came here via Thrifty Household.

  9. November 14, 2011 10:15 am

    I like the sound of rosehips and parsley flowers and it is exactly how I see this challenge manifesting itself. Curious combinations that actually look refreshingly new. Will you blog it?

  10. November 14, 2011 5:29 pm

    Such a lovely idea – I have wandered outside today and gathered not a lot, but I am overjoyed to see a large number of tiny baby euphorbia plants so I shall not have an empty vase!

  11. November 16, 2011 11:53 am

    I stumbled over here via Knitsofacto, and (as if I need another distraction!) I’ve picked a surprisingly summery posy from my mid-November Suffolk garden!
    Thanks for the inspiration.

    http://purplepoddedpeas.blogspot.com/2011/11/november-flowers-and-mantel-pieces.html

    Celia

  12. November 18, 2011 9:34 pm

    Lovely idea and I will have a go too although it will be easier for me than for city dwellers as I have hedgerows by the mile round here.

Leave a Reply

