Skip to content

Cut Flowers

November 13, 2011

This is week two of my plan to cut a pot of flowers for the house from the garden, allotment or hedgerow for 52 weeks. The nasturtiums are still blooming away so there maybe another pot full next week but I’ll try to mix them with something else. I hope that it will inspire more plants for the winter garden in all our gardens since there are so many lovely plants to choose from.  Incidentally the vases are cut down plastic shampoo containers.  I cut the first one and so enjoyed the simplicity and dark contrast of the plastic I saved the next two and slightly varied the heights. It was easy to peel off the label and then less easy to cut to size with a fine tenon saw.

This collection of small hand thrown pots were lurking at the back of the garden shed so having spotted half-price bulbs in Wilkinsons last week I decided to plant them up.  This scale of pot needs very small bulbs so I chose Crocus Romance and Iris Katharine Hodgkin. I managed to get about 7 or 8 bulbs of each in a rather small space.  I packed in as much fresh compost as I could and I have put them in a cold frame simply t0 thwart the squirrel. I can see from the photo that I should fill them to the top for maximum nourishment. The iris is scented and both will flower in February -March next year. Gosh that will help with my challenge won’t it?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. November 13, 2011 10:53 am

    I love your nasturtiums- I raided mine yesterday to make some more of my nasturtium pesto, I should have saved some for the cut flower challenge!
    Can’t wait to see your pots of bulbs.

  2. November 13, 2011 10:59 am

    This is such a great challenge, I might give it a go! I grow and sell cut flowers from my garden all summer, but rather give up cutting in the winter, but this challenge has piqued my interest! Look forward to following your posts and see what you come up with! Belinda

  3. November 13, 2011 11:15 am

    I’m looking forward to seeing those pots when the crocus and iris are in flower too.

    Challenge accepted, will post about it soon at knitsofacto

  4. November 13, 2011 4:22 pm

    Well you know you can count me in! I’ve done pretty well since I planted the new beds in May, but I think I’m going to find it tough going once we are into the New Year. I might have to resort to sneaky pickings from your garden – but that would be very underhand, and not really in the spirit of the exercise! It will be interesting to see where the ‘hungry gap’ falls in the cut flower cycle.

    • November 13, 2011 6:24 pm

      Yes I found myself in a traffic jam today and as the car slowly drifted past a row of front gardens one of them was stuffed full with flowering hydrangeas. They were those reddish- green flower-heads that are so stunning at this time of year. Not allowed but useful to note when thinking about what plants to grow with Winter interest.

  5. November 13, 2011 6:23 pm

    Prunus autumnalis – Nov to March. Sorted! x

  6. November 15, 2011 9:21 am

    Fantastic idea- and those nasturtiums are magnificent!

  7. November 18, 2011 4:58 pm

    Loving the challenge of having all year round flowers for the house. If we had mild autumns like this every year the challenge would certainly be a bit easier. I’ve just posted about growing cut flowers on my blog if you’d like to take a look. Hope to see you there. Do the nasturtiums last well in water?

  8. November 18, 2011 5:10 pm

    I am very delighted at the response to the challenge. The nasturtiums only lasted four days but that’s alright and I could have topped them up with more.

  9. December 2, 2011 1:44 pm

    Love the use of shampoo containers for flowers! We’ve just put in bulbs and new rose bushes and in the process, removed the remaining nasturtiums :=( – no doubt they’ll be back next year! For now, I would hesitate to commit to cut flowers every week, but I shall start looking for alternative sources…

    Thanks for visiting ShelleysHouse – I’ve already picked up some great ideas here!

Leave a Reply

