Skip to content

Autumn Tidy Up

November 14, 2011

It’s a bit like housework, I only do it when knee-deep in clutter, fallen leaves in this case. And rather like housework it’s very satisfying once done and the house and garden look more loved and thus more lovely. So yesterday I bagged up four black sacks of leaves blown from the walnut tree (otherwise known as Squirrel Heights) in my neighbour’s garden. There are also fallen leaves from a mulberry that spreads its wonderful dark branches high above the shared wall and hangs 6 metres above  one of my flower beds.  I really value both these trees because they favourably alter the light and give a dramatic reminder of the changing seasons. They also gave me several sacks of leaves now hidden behind the garden shed which I hope to keep for at least twelve months before using as a mulch next autumn.

The other tidy up was on the allotment where I cut back the Autumn Bliss raspberry canes and mulched with the decomposed contents of one of my compost bins.  This time last year I followed a tip which was to cut half the row of autumn raspberries down to the ground and then to cut the remaining half of the row to about 50 cms.  I had a spectacular crop of Autumn Bliss this year starting in July and August and carrying on until October. The ones that were cut to 50cms fruited early and prolifically and then the rest came at the usual time.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 14, 2011 11:39 pm

    Autumn raspberries- delicious! Do you think I could grow them in pots?

    • November 15, 2011 9:21 am

      You could but I would say that they are not very interesting as a plant. So sorry raspberries, but there isn’t a lot going on before and then after they fruit. You would need lots of pots to make it worth while.

  2. November 21, 2011 10:58 am

    I’m going to try this with the raspberries. I haven’t cut them back yet but it’s on the list for this week. I’ll also try to remember to report back next year when we’re wallowing in rasps.

Leave a Reply

