Skip to content

Love in a Mist

November 20, 2011

I scattered the contents of a dried seed head from my Nigella plants in August and suddenly spied these on the edge of the allotment a week ago. I seem to have missed the full flowering but since I love green flowers I am happy to live with these for Week 3 of not spending money at the florists.  I have lots of seed heads of this annual flower saved in a paper bag so next week I’ll scatter them the length of the boundary next to the wire fence. They will then be ready to take off as soon as the weather warms up in April.

This has prompted me to buy a Moleskine page a day notebook for next year. I keep an allotment journal but it’s quite chaotic and relies on reading through to check what I did last year and usually all the preceding years. I can now write in useful reminders on the actual day of the right month and especially benefit from the number of Grow Your Own and gardening blogs that I am following.  There’s a most useful reminder on growing biennial flowers (and much more) on wellywoman.  Since I am aiming for more bio-diversity on the allotment and plan to make room for many more cut flowers, I will now make sure I am organised with dates for sowing biennials.

And Naomi at outofmyshed has a useful post on bare root plants including a supplier of bare root perennials.  These are the herbaceous plants that come back year after year and can be easily divided up to increase your stock either on the allotment or in borders in the garden. There are several hardy perennials that I would never be without for reliability and beauty and for cutting.  Geranium psilostemon, Phlomis russeliana, Crambe cordifolia,  Alchemilla mollis, Astrantia major, Euphorbia amygdaloides var.robbiae, Helleborus argutifolius, Erysimum ‘Bowles Mauve’ are just a handful.  It may not be possible to get these as bare root plants but if they are available they are cheaper than potted up plants.  Otherwise they’ll be found in garden centres and nurseries from April onwards. I think what I am saying is it’s worth thinking about plants that give lots of opportunities for cutting for the house and also look stunning in the garden and that then come back year after year.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 20, 2011 5:23 pm

    That sound very sensible & organised. I have often intended to do that but never quite got round to it…

    P.S. Love the vase/jug as well as the seed heads!

  2. November 21, 2011 2:17 pm

    I love the look of your nigella ‘flowers’ – mine didn’t do well this year, shaded by the raspberries so never really had a chance. Next year, I’ll be sprinkling early!

  3. November 21, 2011 2:56 pm

    Thanks for the mention. It’s something I definitely need to look at, trying to get more plants into my garden that I can use for cutting. I have the plot for flowers but I don’t want to fill it up with perennial plants so need to get some plants into the garden. Will have a look out for some of your suggestions.

  4. November 24, 2011 9:58 pm

    Hi Sue, thanks too for the mention. I think Toby Buckland’s nursery does supply a few of your favourite perennials as bare-rooted plants and they also supply some scented roses too which can be planted from now until March. Love your Nigella pods-they look so vibrant and fresh, especially at this time of year-gorgeous.

Leave a Reply

