Skip to content

Tamara’s Ratatouille

November 27, 2011

I love Yotam Ottolenghi’s recipes and followed this one  Tamara’s Ratatouille from his book PLENTY with some excitement since he says it’s ‘magnificently delicious’.  Well he’s right.  It has a long list of ingredients and requires quite a lot of preparation but it is so worth the effort. His advice is to get all your prep done before you start cooking,  my advice is to tune in to a good radio programme whilst you make it.  It makes a huge amount and it freezes well, even the coriander in spite of being frozen tastes like it was freshly added.  Last night I chopped and fried two lonely rashers of bacon found in the fridge and added them to a quarter of the ratatouille and then added that to cooked spaghetti. It was delicious and the rest I froze in three separate containers to enjoy when I don’t feel like cooking.

I finally planted the rest of my bulbs, some in pots, some in the ground at the shady end of the garden. As I wandered round I began to feel a bit anxious about Week 4 of my challenge to pick a vase of flowers a week.  I cut back the Sedum ‘Autumn Joy’ since most of it was lying horizontal and looking sad and managed to rescue enough to fill this jug. I added Ornithogalum which is still going strong but that will need to be cut back next week and protected from frosts if it is to survive the winter. Since the five pots planted in July have been in flower ever since I am determined to get it through the winter.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 27, 2011 10:53 am

    I’ve been admiring the ornithogalum flowers in your posts so mush that I’ve added them to my Christmas list!

  2. November 29, 2011 4:38 pm

    I haven’t come across Ornithogalum before but they are very beautiful. Another one to add to my list. I’m going to have to do some serious filtering of my ‘wish list’ in January, either that or somehow get a bigger garden. It’s the only thing with gardening it is very addictive.

  3. December 1, 2011 3:30 pm

    Ornithogalum is sold as a bulb at Peter Nyssen the bulb supplier. But I bought my five huge pots of it from a Dutch flower importer. He was just starting to sell herbaceous plants in pots for garden designers. My guess is they were brought-on in the warmth of those huge Dutch nurseries. My challenge is to get them through the winter in the ground.

Leave a Reply

