Skip to content

City Lights Winning Entry

December 1, 2011

All entries were written on folded card and put in the waste paper basket. The winner was picked out with eyes closed and it is The Quince Tree. I will contact Sue immediately and thanks to all of you who like them enough to enter.

Please don’t laugh. I thought I was sowing the spilled contents of a packet of flat leaf parsley, then I found these. They were growing in a pot outside the kitchen door and if I hadn’t needed the pot for bulbs I would have left them to grow a bit bigger. I may well do the same next year- sow in pots at home- but with better planning. The seeds germinated fast and these dear little carrots made their presence felt about eight weeks ago and with no sign of aphid damage. I sowed the seeds in July when the carrot fly had moved on and the compost was fresh and loose so the carrots developed relatively straight roots. I roasted them with the last of the butternut squash so more than enough for two and I have to say they were a most delicious flavour.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 1, 2011 2:39 pm

    Oh my! What a lovely birthday surprise. Thank you!

  2. December 1, 2011 3:42 pm

    Those carrots are so sweet! Congrats to Sue- enjoy your lights…

  3. December 2, 2011 1:25 am

    Congratulations to Sue.x

    Perfect little carrots!

  4. December 2, 2011 12:36 pm

    Growing little carrots like that would be a perfect wheeze for baby carrots for Christmas dinner!

Leave a Reply

