Skip to content

Making Winter

December 13, 2011

I sprayed my hydrangea flowers with silver and was pleased to see that the flowers came out a subtle bronze and mauve. I stuck them in a ten year old wreath which already had old faded hydrangea flowers wound into it. It’s now pinned on the front door and I am fairly pleased but more so with the decorations below.

I covered the marble fire surround with the sprayed hydrangea heads having cut the stems off (too twiggy). Then I dotted some glass and silver votives  amongst them. I lit my favourite cinnamon, orange and clove scented candle tea- lights for a few minutes and got into the mood for Christmas since the house smells lovely. I’ll try to save them for lighting when the house is full the weekend after next.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. December 13, 2011 1:57 pm

    ‘Tis very pretty indeed: worthy of any fairytale and, dare I say with my unhealthy obssession for Christmas wreaths, it looks fairly easy to make?

    Pride comes before a fall but I shall give it a go.

    Enjoy your week!

  2. December 13, 2011 2:24 pm

    That is so beautiful Sue- I’d never thought if spraying hydrangea heads…I shall pick some to bring inside & dry out first…
    Thanks for adding this link to the Making Winter Project!

  3. December 13, 2011 2:41 pm

    I love the muted colours – the result is beautiful. Hydrangea flowers really are an amazing structure – I think I might have to invest in a hydrangea next year, if only for the dried flower heads. Thank so much for joining in with our project. It really is helping me to like winter – a great deal more.

    • December 13, 2011 3:11 pm

      Hi Emma

      Yes the colours are subtle which i like. I pinned the wreath to the front door an hour ago and we then had 5cms of hail and torrential rain. So the hydrangeas are now glowing wet and autumnal which is good.

      I plan to plant more hydrangeas next year too. I can’t think why Madonna hates them…no taste.

      Sue

  4. December 13, 2011 3:01 pm

    They look gorgeous. I’m finally starting to feel Christmassy, just got to get through this week…

  5. December 13, 2011 4:03 pm

    Lovely original looking decorations. Home made is so much nicer than shop bought

  6. December 13, 2011 6:01 pm

    So pretty, I think hydrangeas are beautiful whether fresh, dried or painted.

  7. December 15, 2011 2:43 pm

    Great looking decorations. I need to get cracking with a few of my own, hopefully if it’s dry enough this weekend I’m going to pick some bits and pieces from the hedgerows. There is an award for you on my own blog. You are under no obligation to accept it, I just wanted to let you know I enjoy reading your blog. The only conditions if you do accept are to link back to my blog, copy and paste the award onto your blog and then nominate 5 of your own favourite blogs and give them the award too. Best wishes.

  8. December 15, 2011 4:24 pm

    This is so pretty. I have a bit of an aversion to hydrangeas until they are dried and then they are just stunning. Juliex

  9. December 15, 2011 6:24 pm

    Fab idea! There are loads of dry Hydrangea flowers in our neighbours garden…I shall be asking for some to do a wreath with. Thanks for sharing this great idea!

  10. December 17, 2011 8:43 am

    I do love hydrangeas, but have to be honest I think they’re prettier dried than fresh! They remind me of our garden when I was a child. Glorious.

    You won my snowflake giveaway! Could you email me – dottycookie at gmail dot com – to sort out the details?

Leave a Reply

