Skip to content

Christmas Salad

December 17, 2011

Last night we ate Ottolenghi’s Lemon and Celery Salad which was a refreshing accompaniment to a smoked fish pie (also his recipe). I’ll make this salad over the Christmas hols since I love cold meat and salads for all those days after the traditional feast.

1 medium lemon

2 pale celery stalks cut widthways on an angle  into 3mm slices

30g picked celery leaves, 10g picked dill leaves, 10g picked parsley leaves

30g sultanas and 60g black olives pitted and halved

1 1/2 tblsp olive oil

1 tsp Sea Salt

Cut the skin and all the pith from the lemon and chop the flesh finely discarding the pips. Combine all the ingredients then mix in the lemon and olive oil.

Cut Flowers week 7

There isn’t a huge amount in flower so I picked more Euphorbia chariacus for the lovely green blooms, Vinca major for 3 pretty mauve flowers, lots of Arum lily leaves. some stems from the olive tree for a bit of silver and a few sprigs of rosemary. I shall be bolder next week and gather lots of evergreen but I am getting a bit nervous about January.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. December 17, 2011 4:32 pm

    That salad looks and sounds delicious! Do you thing it would cope with a substitution of anchovies for olives? Hubby is ‘not big’ (his words) on olives.

    I’m keeping up with the flower challenge, just. Will post an update soon. As you say, January is worrying! But I relish a challenge!

    • December 17, 2011 4:45 pm

      I love ‘not big’ on olives in fact I shrieked with laughter. Yes I am sure the recipe would work with anchovies: it’s the saltiness that gives it the kick plus the sharpness of the lemon. The salty fish should be a substitute for the salty olives. Sue x

  2. December 17, 2011 5:05 pm

    Oh no, I’ve just made celery soup with the remnants of a celery…if only I’d seen this post first…(Annie’s hubby can keep the anchovies & I’ll have the olives instead!)
    Love the flowers too!

  3. December 17, 2011 6:46 pm

    Oh, this sounds delicious and refreshing – thanks for posting

  4. December 18, 2011 4:39 pm

    Love the idea of that salad. Sounds very refreshing. Just what you need after all the usual Christmas richness.
    I agree January will be difficult on the blooms front but it’s interesting to try these ideas and I look forward to reading how you get on.

Leave a Reply

