Skip to content

Small is Beautiful

December 24, 2011

Here are Charlotte’s sprouts which look pretty good to me, if not as huge as the supermarket ones. They’ll need a bit of editing but they are organic and I know they’ll be delicious. The test to see whether cutting off the sprout tops would produce fatter sprouts was difficult to assess. On a very windy day two weeks ago all the covers came off and the pigeons set upon the lovely healthy  tops. Since I was unable to remember which ones I had snipped there is now no way of telling. My guess is it makes no difference to the size of the sprout.  I experimented by frying the tiniest sprouts with the shredded cabbage plus some shallots in olive oil and butter. It was a very good alternative to boiled sprouts and I’ll do the same on Christmas day.

Week 8 of cut flowers from the garden produced two substantial pots. I picked some branches of red berries from the holly to give it a bit of Christmas cheer, lots more Euphorbia wulfennii, Vinca major and Christmas box (Sarcococca ). I am hoping the tiny yellow flowers will open to scent the room.

Happy Christmas everyone and a joyous New Year.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 24, 2011 6:24 pm

    And a very Merry Christmas to you and yours x See you on the other side!

  2. December 24, 2011 8:54 pm

    I’m impressed with those sprouts. Mine are from my local farmers market, still organic though. Picked a few flowers from my garden today for a table decoration. Not sure there will be many years when I have heleniums, salvias, achilleas and winter flowering honeysuckle in the same vase. Merry Christmas to you and your family. Wellywoman.

  3. December 26, 2011 12:16 pm

    Well done with the sprouts, they look very good. I like the idea of stir frying rather than boiling them, gives a chance to add in extra flavours. Lovely flowers, must check and see if our euphorbias are flowering. I don’t pick them though, isn’t the sap supposed to be an irritant? Merry Christmas! Caro (at the Urban Veg Patch)

  4. December 27, 2011 3:40 pm

    Impressive sprouts & lovely flowers too…

Leave a Reply

