Skip to content

Green Cabbage Thoran

January 6, 2012

Here’s a Savoy cabbage grown on the allotment and here’s a favourite recipe that I slightly adapted from a Sainsbury cook book Indian by Das Streedharan. I substituted the white cabbage for my green one and it was so delicious I would like to pass it on.

It serves 6 as a side dish with other Indian food and it freezes well.

RECIPE

Heat 5tbsp of oil in a pan. Fry 1 1/2 tbsp of mustard seeds until they pop. Add 10 dried curry leaves and 1 tsp onion seeds and cook and stir for 2 mins before adding 3 finely sliced onions and 1 tsp of chopped red chillies (flakes are just as good).  Cook on a high heat for 1 minute, then cook gently until the onions are soft about 20 minutes. Add salt and 1tsp of turmeric and then stir in the finely shredded cabbage and cook covered for a further 15 mins. Add a tin of coconut milk and cook for 10mins then serve piping hot.

This week I have picked a very small pot of greenery since we are off to Seville for a few days.  One of the interesting things about my experiment is that I now really appreciate the few flowers that are in bloom in the depth of winter.  And it’s not so much the impact they add to the garden since they are  scattered in various areas and they really don’t add much to the overall design.  But concentrated in a pot on the kitchen table is a great way to enjoy whatever is in bloom. Grouped together like this, just 5 stems of Vinca Major, really lift my spirits. And it seems the more I pick the more it puts out new flower stems each week.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. January 6, 2012 12:03 pm

    Very lovely vinca- shown off to maximum advantage in that green vase.

    Your cabbage is very impressive. I shall try & think differently about cabbage- I just tend to boil/steam them as a side dish. I must make an effort to become more adventurous!

  2. January 6, 2012 12:56 pm

    A really interesting way of using cabbage. Sounds like something to give a try. I love the vinca in the vase. it surprising how a flower that isn’t really given much thought when growing in the garden is transformed by putting it in a vase. Enjoy Seville. I great idea to escape January.

  3. January 6, 2012 4:43 pm

    Trust me- if you like Indian food it’s a really delicious way to cook cabbage.

  4. January 7, 2012 12:28 pm

    While still outdoors so many winter blooms are lost in the overall green/brownness of the winter garden, aren’t they … you’re so right that it’s the bringing them together that is the charm. I’m off to track down a Savoy, I’m sure Gap Year Boy can rustle me one up from the market garden where he’s working 🙂

  5. January 8, 2012 10:32 am

    Oh that recipe sounds so good. I’m going to give it a try. Thankyou!

    I half inched a Rick Stein recipe for cabbage with bacon and beer recently. I added some double cream. It was excellent.

    May I join in with your weekly garden posy experiment? I may not manage it weekly but I’ll give it a good go.

    • January 8, 2012 11:29 am

      Emma of course-please do join in. It really focuses the mind when planning any new additions to the garden.

  6. January 8, 2012 10:33 am

    Oh and have a great time in Seville. I wonder if you’re allowed to bring oranges home for marmalade?

Leave a Reply

