Skip to content

Food For Thought

February 3, 2012

I plan to sort through my box of seeds later today in preparation for purchasing more at the allotment shop.  Having reduced the size of my plot from sixteen beds to nine I’ll need to think about what I grow more carefully.  I’m looking forward to better management of my time and the space with more hoeing and sowing of follow-on crops.  I’ll start with my list of favourites of the highest yielding vegetables:

Beetroot, cabbage (all), broad, French and runner beans, courgettes, garlic, kale, leeks, lettuce and salad leaves, onions and shallots, spinach, chard, radishes and potatoes.

Early potatoes- probably the high-yielding Lady Christi. http://www.thompson-morgan.com can go in in March and by the end of July that bed will be free for sweetcorn which isn’t particularly high yielding but well worth growing. I love the look of the lush green leaves and sweetcorn tastes so good freshly picked.  The asparagus which is now in its fourth year has yet to produce in any quantity (4 spears last year) and it’s getting one last chance. If that bed is to be re-used I’ll pile on some rich compost and plant butternut squash. These tend to sprawl and ramble taking up valuable space so I’ll only plant them if there’s a spare bed. Last year I combined outdoor tomatoes with the small Squash Buffy from http://www.plantsofdistinction.co.uk/which was very successful.

Well how embarrassing is that?  I seem to have most of the above list left over from last year. But the good thing about sowing seeds at home and bringing them on as small plants for the allotment is if any fail to germinate it will be obvious. The pop up greenhouse will go up at the end of February in preparation for some serious sowing from the above collection and then I’ll see what comes through.

I just had to pick these darling hellebores for week 14 especially since I’m rather bored with the euphorbias. The dish was given to me by my late mother-in-law decades ago and I used it for anemone heads (her instruction). It felt cruel picking the heads off the emerging hellebores and they were frozen solid which felt further insulting but in the warm kitchen they are opening up and at least you can see their full glory. I added some vinca to fill the space.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 3, 2012 11:40 am

    Loving your week 14 flowers, and that veggie list … roll on the release of our little allotment plot 😀

  2. February 3, 2012 12:04 pm

    Those flower heads look so beautiful- what a great way to display them!

  3. February 3, 2012 1:54 pm

    Yes, love the hellebores and vinca!

  4. February 4, 2012 10:13 am

    Stick with the asparagus – I wouldn’t be without mine. The flower challenge boosts the imagination; the hellebores and vinca look beautiful.

  5. February 5, 2012 10:21 am

    Hi Anne

    Yes I am encouraged to do so by your comment and the three growers on my site who grow fantastic asparagus. I will blog (brag) if I get any.

    Sue

Leave a Reply

