Skip to content

Divide and Rule

March 10, 2012

My four large pots of Agapanthus africanus have survived the winter and with a tidy up of the few brown leaves and a feed they should give a fine late summer display. I divided them up two years ago in March by tipping out two pots and cutting through the root-stock with a clean sharp knife. Re-planted in fresh loam-based compost, they bloomed last year.  I value the strap-like evergreen leaves throughout winter almost as much as the lovely flowers and feeding them in winter or spring guarantees a fine display from mid-summer.  I mulch with  6X which is a heat sterilised farmyard manure and it costs about £9 for a 25 litre sack but this goes a long way. A handful round the base of the agapanthus at soil level is then watered in and is all that’s required. I do the same for all roses and deciduous shrubs when the first leaves are beginning to show. It’s a simple  method and focuses the nutrients as close to the roots as possible. A word of warning 6X does have a farmyard aroma but the smell is sweet and healthy if you know what I mean.

The broadbeans are hardening off and the mange tout have now joined them in the pop-up greenhouse.  These took just a week to come through in my heated propagator and I can now sow the peas next followed by Swiss chard and rainbow chard.

This weeks cut flowers are hellebores, vinca, hyacinth  and Euphorbia robbiae which burst into flower this week and is carpeting the ground under the beech hedge.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 10, 2012 12:32 pm

    I’d love to have some Agapanthus. Though I think here in Virginia we’d have to bring them inside for the winter. Still, it might be worth it.

  2. March 10, 2012 12:55 pm

    Hi Sharon

    You would need to protect them in harsh winters but try the deciduous ones. These die back in winter when you can cover them with a thick mulch for protection. They then push through the soil in late spring and flower late summer. Definitely worth a try.

  3. March 10, 2012 4:00 pm

    Thanks for posting this, you made me tackle my pot bound Agapanthus head on today and now I have 5 new plants. As they didn’t flower last year I’m hoping splitting them will make a difference. Mine are the deciduous ones.

    • March 10, 2012 4:17 pm

      Well done…. I just love increasing stock from what I already have in the garden. The deciduous ones are hardy and even if they don’t flower this summer they will next and they’ll welcome a feed now and again in the summer.

  4. March 12, 2012 3:23 pm

    Beautiful flowers, as ever, Sue! (I like the Agapanthus too- mine always die!)

  5. March 12, 2012 3:57 pm

    Ah Naomi try again with wonderful agapanthus. Maybe they fail because Cambridge is much colder than Bristol but planted in a generous size pot brought near the house for winter might do the trick.

    Sue

  6. March 13, 2012 11:24 pm

    Beautiful 😀 I only managed vinca here this week. I’m keeping up with the challenge and am writing down every weeks flowers but I’m not doing great with the photos!

Leave a Reply

