Skip to content

Low Maintenance Planting

April 5, 2012

I visited a friend last weekend whose sizeable front garden looked stunning bursting as it was in a sea of Euphorbia robbiae inter-planted with Vinca major. The lime green flowers mixed with the bright blue of the vinca covered a huge area and combined to make a simply gorgeous impact. The two plants form a tight carpet at a height of about 80cms and provide a back-drop to other shrubs, a large crab apple tree, bulbs and herbaceous plants.  Flowering for weeks on end this early display fills the gap whilst waiting for other plants to bloom as well as usefully disguising bulbs that have finished flowering and need to be left to die back.  Thinking about it later I concluded that planting two or three dependable, evergreen performance plants reduces the work load considerably and provides a huge impact when the plants are in bloom.  And because neither will lose their leaves a low-growing carpet of green remains all year filling the ground and limiting weeds. Both the euphorbia and vinca will be in flower for several months and cutting them back in late summer will ensure a repeat display next year.

The garden here is starting to come alive with three multi-stemmed Amelanchier lamarckii in flower this week looking very pretty against the grey stone wall. The bluebells are also blooming a month earlier than usual and soon the parrot tulips will burst forth too. I picked these un-named bargain tulips for this week’s cut-flower challenge and now have to ask myself why I deny yellow in the garden. They have looked gorgeous all week in a black pot outside the kitchen door and look even better in a vase.  I think I need to challenge my yellow flower prejudice once and for all.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 5, 2012 1:04 pm

    Love the Euphorbia and the Vinca together.It’s definitely an idea I’ll be borrowing in the future. Thanks for sharing. Think the yellow and blue look gorgeous too.

  2. April 5, 2012 5:58 pm

    Your friends garden must look stunning with that combination. I stopped buying large daffodils a few years ago and only had miniature ones so that I didn’t have such a problem with foliage dying, although they aren’t as eye catching as the larger flowers.
    Have a good Esster.
    Sarah

  3. April 5, 2012 7:25 pm

    That mix of blue and green must be awesome.

    I have potted hyacinths for this weeks challenge flower (pic on the blog). Along with posies of primulas cut from the garden and pussy willow from the hedgerows my hyacinth bulbs have kept me going all spring!

  4. April 13, 2012 7:41 pm

    I love Amelanchier: one of my all-time favourites.

Leave a Reply

