Skip to content

Tulips

April 14, 2012

The yellow tulips still look fantastic in their black pot in the garden and it must be three weeks since they emerged. The ones I cut  last week for the house changed form opening to a huge flat windmill flower and I much prefer them closed as they are here in this image.

On the kitchen table is a pot of the cultivar Tulipa greigii Red Riding Hood. I’ve never grown it before and I am enjoying the striped brown and green leaves and varied tones of tulip heads as yet un-opened.

The cut flowers for this week are the Spanish bluebells out a month earlier than usual.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 14, 2012 12:33 pm

    I love your pictures of tulips they are my favourite spring time flower. Do your bluebells last very long when they are picked?
    Sarah

    • April 14, 2012 12:50 pm

      Hi Sara

      I feel the same as you about tulips and can well imagine the fever to collect that they caused in earlier centuries. I plan for more next year inspired by http://outofmyshed.co.uk/ and http://charlottesplot.com/ both of which have some gorgeous images.

      The bluebells last for about five days and then they fade in colour. I like that stage too -blousy but in a naturalistic woodland sort of way.

      Sue

  2. April 14, 2012 3:04 pm

    Our larger potted tulips are looking very good at the moment but the dwarf ones all got frost burn on their leaves so I feel no guilt in cutting the flowers to bring them inside to enjoy them.

Leave a Reply

