Skip to content

The Pea

April 20, 2012

I have never been sure about this method of growing peas which you sow in halved drainpipes then when they are up you slide compost and peas into a prepared trench. But since I found I had the drain pipes I am having a go. I managed to get some hazel nut branches to provide support as they climb and will put them  between the two rows. But my main concern is the badger that has been caught on an infra-red camera visiting the allotment at night. I suspected a badger last summer when the peas and mange tout were eaten followed by the ripe sweetcorn later in the summer when the entire row was dragged to the ground. On-line research says that badgers are put off by male urine (not female) so I am equipped with a substantial jar of said deterrent and will water it in when the peas appear and report back.

An hour later and the peas are in the ground and to my excitement the asparagus bed is showing signs of a substantial crop for the first time since planting five years ago. I just hope the badger dislikes asparagus in the way he clearly hates purple sprouting brocolli.

The grass Luzula nivea is a big favourite partly because it’s evergreen, survives in total shade and looks good all year but mostly because in spring it produces these very fine flower-heads. I mixed the flowers with some green flowering hellebore to keep the tone subdued and this is the third day after cutting. The stems of the hellebore are seared on a gas flame for 90 seconds immediately after picking which keeps them upright.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. April 20, 2012 4:34 pm

    2 really good tips there, thankyou. Not sure we have badgers on our allotments but as I’ve just sown the sweetcorn I’ll bare the urine in mind!!

  2. April 20, 2012 4:50 pm

    Hi Ruth

    I hope it works but instinct tells me it might well !!

    Sue

  3. April 20, 2012 11:20 pm

    We gave up with peas on our allotment as if it wasn’t the mice stealing the seeds, the pigeons pecked the tips off them. They are much happier in our garden!

    • April 21, 2012 9:50 am

      I’ll plant some peas in a pot here this morning although we do have a pigeon (or two hundred) problem. I wish I could show you the blousy bluebells eight days after picking and their scent has increased too.

  4. April 27, 2012 8:13 pm

    There’s been something snuffling around my veg patch recently: herbs dug up and thrown around, a snout investigating my potato plants and unearthing the leaves. Luckily broad beans and onions are netted off. I’d suspected a fox or cats, either way it’s a nuisance!

    • April 30, 2012 10:11 am

      Sounds awfully like the badger to me. ‘Ours’ dug up a load of tulips and was caught in the act on the infra red camera.

  5. May 2, 2012 3:54 pm

    I’m so pleased to have your blog, some great reading! And I’m sorry to hear you’ve had Badgers mucnhing on your veggies, they pretty well destroyed last years sweetcorn – my own fault I shouldn’t have been so lazy and picked it when it was ready. Grrr. So I hope you peas survive – and of course I know want to know if the urine trick works!!

    • May 2, 2012 5:33 pm

      I will keep you informed of the results. I now have two large lidded jam jars of the golden liquid sitting in the shed and ready to apply. Husband thinks I’m mad.

Leave a Reply

