Skip to content

Flamboyant Rococo

April 27, 2012

To pick or not to pick. Well I did in the end because we had  36 hours of rain and the tulips were lying horizontal in pots in the garden. I mixed T. Rococo with T. Black Parrot and Euphorbia robbiae and put them in a plum coloured jug which works rather well with these exotic colours.

This is a close-up of the two tulips and below is a solo image of T.Black Parrot which is my current favourite.

And on a practical note I lifted a clump of Sedum autumnalis to divide up for a project on the allotment. A compost loo was installed at the end of a long, narrow patch of land. The idea is to line the walk to it with two full herbaceous borders on either side of the path. Since I love dividing up herbaceous plants I am enjoying lifting and making freebies from my garden here. Sedum is one of the easiest plants to divide and it’s a favourite so I am pleased to be passing it on in this way.

From the plant above I made about 15 small clumps now planted and they’ll grow to the size of the one divided by the end of this year. Perennial geraniums are another favourite that are easy to divide as demonstrated in an earlier post on  geranium-psilostemon/.

There are many herbaceous plants that divide easily or that self seed and I’ll blog a list for next week for sun and shade  sides in a garden.  It would then be possible to fill a couple of borders that would look lovely all summer and to give you stock for making the beds bigger or starting new beds each year.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 27, 2012 10:10 am

    By coincidence I have divided my geraniums this morning and have the sedums in my sights for later!

    • April 27, 2012 11:30 am

      Go for it. Isn’t it satisfying and the plants seem to thrive with a bit of root disturbance

  2. April 27, 2012 3:52 pm

    Sedums are one of my favourites too. I often using the cuttings from the Chelsea chop I give them to make new plants, they root so easily. I’ve even grown them from just the leaves stuck into a pot of compost.
    Your tulips are beautiful like a Dutch masters painting. I might try some tulips at the allotment next year for cutting.

    • April 27, 2012 4:56 pm

      Thanks for the tip. I shall try the leaves stuck straight into compost method since the more we have for the project the better.

  3. April 27, 2012 8:17 pm

    I took a deep breath and divided my one and only monarda clump this spring. Seems to be doing well so far – I’ll be very pleased if this works as it’s a beautiful flower (and edible). I think a little plant I picked up from a farm stall might be sedums in which case I’ll keep your advice in mind for next year.

  4. May 3, 2012 10:50 am

    I’ve been naughty about the cut flower challenge as with so little in flower I’ve wanted to leave things outdoors to stop the garden looking bare. But finally my tulips are flowering. Can’t wait 😀 Just wish I had some of those gorgeous Black Parrots

Leave a Reply

