Skip to content

French Apricots

June 27, 2012

I have been waiting for these to arrive since I have it on the authority of my friend Sonia, an excellent apricot jam maker,  that the French ones are sweeter than the Spanish.  So I bought two trays at the Bristol Fruit Market, one for a neighbour, and then we had an anxious wait of five days for them to soften. Eventually they felt ripe to the touch and today I made jam from  2 kilos plus 1 kilo  of granulated sugar and the juice of two lemons.

The remainder of the box was transformed into a heavenly apricot and almond ice cream.

750 g apricots halved and stoned

2 tbsp honey

2 tbsp lemon juice

10 ratafia biscuits

4 meringues

285 ml whipping cream

Simmer the apricots with the lemon juice and honey until meltingly soft, then puree and sieve and then chill. Put the biscuits and meringues in a small bag and crush with a rolling-pin but leave fairly large chunks. Whisk the cream in a large bowl until it forms soft peaks then gently fold in the biscuits, meringues and the apricot puree all at the same time. Transfer to a lidded container (this amount made 2 x 1 litre  containers) and freeze immediately. Remove from the freezer 20 minutes before you plan to eat it to just soften enough. I added the meringues to the recipe to make it a little sweeter and this worked well.  The flavour is superb, intensely almondy and the texture gorgeous.

This week I cut white hydrangea, spires of white Linaria, cosmos and eau de cologne mint. The white sweet peas on the allotment have been hit by a virus which I was concerned about a few weeks ago.  The plants looked bedraggled, stopped climbing their supports then white splodges appeared on the leaves with absolutely no sign of any flowers.  I’ll dig them out and destroy them but I noticed the local florist still has pots of sweet pea seedlings and these I’ll plant in the garden here.

My neighbour’s rose R.Cerise Bouquet, described as a modern shrub growing to 2.50m, has climbed  much higher and is supported by the branches of a walnut tree.  It looks fantastic especially with a carpet of Campanula poscharskyana next to it on top of the wall. This alpine has seeded itself in every available nook and cranny of the walls and steps along the street and looks very charming against the more sedate architecture.

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 1, 2012 4:11 pm

    All that sounds gorgeous. I love apricots but I’m so disappointed with the ones I buy in the supermarket, even the French ones because they never seem to ripen. I think they often pick them too early. It’s the same with nectarines, I don’t think there is anything nicer the a juicy, sweet nectarine but it’s so rare to get one. My sweet peas have been a bit of a disaster this year. My lovingly tendered ones I planted in the front garden have been mauled by slugs and snails. I wish I’d put them up at the allotment now. I have got a second lot on the way at the allotment but they aren’t looking great. Just too much rain and not enough sun.

Leave a Reply

