Skip to content

Lavender Biscuits

July 26, 2012


I’ve been wanting to make these for ages and since I picked a huge bunch of lavender on the allotment yesterday evening now seems like a good time. I adapted various  recipes inspired by the Mary Berry original and they are delicious: crunchy like ginger nuts and with a butter and lavender flavour .

125g/4½oz  caster sugar
225g/8oz unsalted butter, softened
300g/10½oz plain flour, plus extra for dusting
50g/1¾oz ground rice (I used semolina)
3 fat lavender flowers stripped from the stem

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 26, 2012 12:19 pm

    I’ve never tried lavender biscuits. I’ve always been a bit dubious about the floral taste and whether I would like it or not but I am intrigued and they look gorgeous. My courgettes are only just starting to grow. This warm weather has been what they needed. I can see baby fruits appearing. My onion squashes have been rubbish too but, are likewise, starting to grow at last and I even spotted a baby squash this morning. I’m not sure whether it’ll come to anything as it seems quite late in the season. It’s August next week. Here’s hoping for a great autumn.

    • July 26, 2012 12:41 pm

      Yes I am expecting this weather to go on till October!!! So maybe my courgettes will produce flowers again in which case I will leave them in the ground for a bit longer.

  2. Marigold Jam permalink
    July 26, 2012 1:31 pm

    Those biscuits sound good I must have a go before all the lavender is over. I once made some peach jam with lavender in it which was good but that was when we lived in France and had plenty of peaches growing in the garden! We have only a couple of beans so far (still that’ll be one each!) cucumbers seem to have decided they’ve had enough although there are a couple of flowers so they might buck up, We haven’t done very well at all this year.

    • July 26, 2012 4:12 pm

      Peach jam with lavender sounds lovely and I may try it with plums as a jam.

Leave a Reply

