Skip to content

Japanese Anemones

August 16, 2012

I have to admit that there is very little in flower in the garden this week. This is one of six large clumps of Japanese Anemone ‘Honorine Jobert’ that I planted last year. The golden stamens in the centre contrast beautifully with the purity of the white flowers and as a group they compliment the grey stone wall that sits behind. But apart from these plus lots of white hydrangea and quantities of sedum, which is just beginning to turn from green to pink, the garden is mostly green and rather dull.

The anemones quite quickly drop their petals when in a vase, usually within a couple of days, but flower for ages in the garden so I limited the pickings to two stems.  Here they are with two heads of Ammi majus that eventually came through after a second sowing from seed and there were two sowings of Cosmos ‘Sensation’  before it finally produced flowers last week .  Neither of these beauties have provided anything like the quantity I had imagined for cutting but both are in the diary to try again next year.

However I followed Naomi at http://outofmyshed.co.uk/ and sowed some cooking peas for a crop of tender pea tops to add to salad leaves. I soaked them overnight on friday, planted them in a wooden crate in new potting compost on saturday and four days later they are sprouting through the soil. I’ll post an image next week when they should be high and mighty. I grew some very tasty pea shoots earlier this year from a packet of garden centre  peas. They were sown in a large pot outside the kitchen door and we enjoyed two pickings before the slugs got to them. This time they are high up on a garden table and in full sun.

This lovely Canterbury Bell is in the newly created herbaceous border on the allotment that lines the 60 metre fence leading to the compost loo. We started it in spring filling the 1 metre wide bed with cuttings, divided up herbaceous perennials plus packets of wild flower seeds. It’s very succesful and as soon as I can get down there to do some serious weeding I’ll take some images and post it.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Marigold Jam permalink
    August 16, 2012 3:45 pm

    As always a pretty little arrangement. We didn’t get any cosmos this year in spite of having masses last year. The wet weather meant the slugs ate them all every one. Our garden is very orange just now with marigolds, nasturtiums and montbretia everywhere plus pale pink lavatera and also sweet peas which are in the usual sugar almond shades and which after a shaky start have gone hell for leather and are providing me with a pretty bunch every other day.

  2. August 16, 2012 4:07 pm

    I would love to have an orange garden right now and I adore marigolds and nasturtiums. So another note for the gardening journal for next year. I find it’s a challenge sticking to a colour scheme in a relatively small garden but I also know anything larger than this one would be too much work !!

  3. August 17, 2012 9:15 am

    Most of my garden is lacking in colour at the moment so it was a relief to hear you say the same. One side of the garden is fairly shady and then I have a small back border which gets a bit more sun but this year Astrantias have rather taken over so Ineed to sort that out in the autumn. I have a sunnier area of the garden that is planted with heleniums, rudbeckias and verbena but it isn’t looking as good this year because of the weather. They all look a bit bedraggled.

    I grow Cosmos ‘Candy Stripe’ which is pretty prolific but I have got 7 plants of it on the plot. As for Ammi, well mine is only just forming flowers. It took me 3 sowings to get plants that could survive the slugs and I’ll probably only get the first flowers towards the end of August. I just hope we don’t get an early frost!!

    • August 17, 2012 12:48 pm

      Well I always tell myself that the beds can be improved next year. But the difficulty is that the garden looks great in May and June and I don’t want to loose that major performance. I loved your rant incidentally and thought it was justified. It takes years to get a hedge up and looking so good and an hour to destroy it.

Leave a Reply

