Skip to content

Pear Jam

August 30, 2012

Last week a friend who was going on holiday presented me with conference pears just plucked from her tree. She said from experience that had she not picked them she would return to a lawn dotted with rotting fruit. The pears were rock hard but after a few days they began to soften and on day six I prepared them for Pear and Lemon Jam cottagesmallholder.com/pear-and-lemon-jam-recipe-

The flavour is unmistakably of scented pears and the strips of lemon peel plus the juice takes away the sweetness to just the right degree. I halved the ingredients and should have chopped the pears a bit smaller but quite frankly slapped on some toast I doubt it will matter. Tasting it again this morning I could imagine substituting the lemon for cubed fresh ginger boiled along with the cubed pears at the reduction stage. I’ve made a note in the gardening journal for next year so there’s plenty of time to work out the quantities.

I have an abundance of nasturtiums and dill on the allotment and each time I’ve visited lately my spirits have soared. Their vibrant colours are unlike anything I have growing at home so I picked a pot for the house and I love the combination. The dill sits in the middle of my square foot vegetable bed: an experiment that has worked well and will be photographed soon.  The feathery leaves and the mustard yellow flowers  make a lovely contrast with the mottled green and red leaves of the beetroot planted in two squares and the red lettuces in another  two squares Yesterday in the sun the predatory wasps were having a lovely time on the dill flowers and there were bees on the nasturtiums.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 30, 2012 10:26 am

    I’ve never really associated pears with jam- but yours does sound good. I’m going to keep my eyes open for some now!

    • August 30, 2012 11:05 am

      The pears kept their shape which meant the syrup stayed clear rather than cloudy making it look appetising.

  2. August 30, 2012 2:14 pm

    that recipe sounds really delicious!

    • August 30, 2012 2:34 pm

      Trust me if you have a surfeit of pears it’s delicious.

Leave a Reply

