Skip to content

More Autumn Planting

October 25, 2012

A lone bulb of Allium multibulbosum appeared in the garden this summer and fulfilled all my favourite ingredients for flowers. It grows to 60-90cms  and remains upright, has green flower buds that open to white with a green centre,  flowers for many weeks from mid-summer and is likely to multiply for many years hence. It’s available from  http://www.peternyssen.com and my order of  bulbs arrived last week with a quantity of these plus scented Iris Edward for a pot near the kitchen door, Allium sphareocephalon to plant near the hydrangeas and Tulip White Triumphator for planting under some roses.

As soon as it stops raining I am off to the allotment to plant a couple of rows of Broad Bean Aguadulce. Past experience tells me the plants are more resistant to blackfly when sown in autumn and since they’ll withstand  the worst of winter I’ll get ahead of the game.  I push the pods directly in the soil and it can take several months before there’s any sign of life. But they grow rapidly from April onwards ready to start cropping in June. I shall also plant more in May by sowing in a pot of compost here and planting in the ground in June when they measure 10cms. This ensures I have a succession of beans to pick from June, July and August.

I don’t want yellow daisies in the garden here but I have enjoyed these Rudbeckia ‘Indian Summer’ peeping over a wall at the back of the house. They were in flower for the last ten weeks and towards the end of their flowering life they combined with the intense red leaves of a Virginia creeper and looked simply wonderful. My neighbour willingly gave me a huge clump, apparently they spread, and I cut them back to 20cms and they made about twenty rooted plants. These I placed in a large pot of compost and in spring I’ll plant them in a row on the allotment since bees love them and they make excellent cut flowers.

Talking of which this week’s flowers are more Sedum Autumn Glory combined with the evergreen foliage of Euphorbia robbiae and Hebe albicans. I picked a similar bunch for a friend’s daughter who has a new baby and she loved them. We all three felt that many supermarket bunches are put together in unsubtle colour combinations often  white, pink and yellow in the same bunch.  The stems are ungainly tall (probably easier to display in the shop) and most lack supporting foliage.  But that said I am so looking forward to buying a bunch of cream gladioli to combine with cream lilies just as soon as I  am free of my pledge to pick homegrown flowers for one year. Roll on November.

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 26, 2012 1:04 pm

    I’ve grown that same Allium too and it’s one of my favourites. I got my bulbs from Peter Nyssen this year for the first time and they seem to very healthy bulbs. Just finished planting up my daffs. I’m waiting until November to start on the tulips. Hoping the weather plays ball.

Leave a Reply

