Skip to content

Sourdough Culture

December 21, 2012

P1060058

The ground is too wet for a trip to the allotment and anyway there’s not much to pick. And there’s very little in flower here that I haven’t blogged recently so I am baking.  I got out my notes from the brilliant day course with Hart’s Bakery where I learnt to make sourdough bread and pastries.

I had allowed my sourdough culture to die but the instructions for starting a new one were in the clearly written notes from the course. So if you would like to start a culture in preparation for making your own bread then here is what you do:

In a 1 litre kilner jar (or equivalent size container with a lid) stir together 100 grams of white flour (organic is best) and  100 grams warm water. Leave in a warm place and after around 24 hours small bubbles should start to appear on the surface – it took 36 hours but here they are.

You then stir it well and add another 50g of flour and water and continue this for 2-3 days until the starter is bubbling and active. Mine needs two more days of topping up then I will keep it in the fridge with the lid on till I am ready to use it. It can be left for 2 to 3 weeks without being fed but must be at room temperature for 12-24 hours so that it’s bubbling and active to make bread.

It takes a few weeks for the flavour to develop fully but once started it’s pretty difficult to kill. Below is the last loaf that I made before the demise of the first culture and it has inspired me to bake sourdough bread again.

P1050417

P1060052

I was given these dramatic dark velvety-red Amaryllis Hippaestrum as cut flowers a few days ago and they remain bonny and beautiful and the perfect colour to celebrate Christmas.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. greenshoots permalink
    December 21, 2012 5:37 pm

    I’ve recently got massively hooked on sourdough bread after trying a Gail’s bakery loaf from my local Waitrose. Thanks so much for the instructions – every time I spend £2/3+ quid on a loaf I think maybe it’s time for me to start making it myself! 🙂

    • December 21, 2012 6:25 pm

      Yes it’s expensive to buy and that’s why I want to get back into making a loaf or two every week. It is also totally delicious to eat.

Leave a Reply

