Skip to content

Allotment Tales

April 28, 2013

DSCN1153

My friend Sue’s allotment shed in Devon is made entirely from recycled materials including the handsome doorknob below.

DSCN1152

And on the door of another hut…

DSCN1154

And a healthy bed of comfrey of which Sue has two. One for making comfrey tea the other for cutting and laying in the trench for bean plants.

DSCN1155-001

And on my plot the 85 year old mother of an allotment neighbour.  Anna has poor sight but loves to do the weeding hence the knee pads.

DSCN1164In february the weather was wet and cold and a trip to the allotment was the last thing I fancied but my Red Baron onion sets were beginning to shoot. So I planted them in a wooden wine box outside the kitchen door. I returned from Devon to find a box of healthy green shoots emerging from 25 onions. They are now in the ground in very straight rows.

DSCN1161

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 29, 2013 8:24 am

    Oh I’m envious of that shed. We aren’t allowed them on our site. I can understand the reasons why but I’d my own little place to shelter from the rain or the heat of the sun, somewhere to make my own.

    • April 29, 2013 8:41 am

      Yes I sheltered in my allotment shed in a sudden downpour on Saturday. I so appreciated it since it rained for just five minutes and I could then get back to planting my onions.

Leave a Reply

