Skip to content

Greening up the Street

July 18, 2013

DSCN1593

The lane at the back of our house is looking very lovely thanks to my neighbour Helen who sowed seeds of hollyhock and evening primrose which she then planted as small seedlings in the gap where the house facades meet the pavement. She  printed and laminated large signs asking the council not to spray weed killer along the road and they resisted so we now have very verdant backs to some of the houses.  My favourite daisy Erigeron karvinskianus is thriving too.

DSCN1596

All the plants have survived the heat wave and we would like to green up much more of the street over the next year or so. Below is Evening primrose  Oenothera biennis which comes from Mexico so is used to hot weather and thrives in poor soil and we  hope this will self-seed.

DSCN1594

I found a row of Borlotti Beans whilst watering on the allotment last night…

DSCN1581

But no sign of the three rows of French bean ‘Sprite’ sown directly in the ground and watered regularly since planting several weeks ago.  I sowed more in pots and these came through fast  and are now planted in the ground and I’ll sow more in pots here in a week or two.

And the first climbing beans are at the top of the poles and the pods are filling up.  I lifted all my broad beans to cut down the watering and I did the same with the beetroot both of which I’ve sown more of in pots here to transplant later. The broad beans are an experiment but I think worth a try since I have a full packet un-opened and we may have an Indian summer.

My only spuds this year are earlies and these are sitting in the dry, hot soil but so far are in perfect condition. I’ve stopped watering these too and just dig them up as we need them. Main crop spuds on other plots are being watered regularly to help them grow.

P1050407

Laura Hart’s Bakery has an inspiring video http://www.youtube.com/watch  on life in her Bristol bakery. Details of the bread and pastry making courses held in her new state of the art bakery can be found on Laura”s website.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 18, 2013 12:33 pm

    I love Hollyhocks. They remind me of a village where I used to live. Have been put off trying them myself because the problem with rust but maybe I should give them a go.

    • July 18, 2013 1:31 pm

      Yes ours have a bit of rust but the flowers more than make up for it.

Leave a Reply

