Skip to content

Bedding Plants

July 25, 2013

I agree with a recent post on http://wellywoman.wordpress.com/which drew attention to the generally poor selection of annual plants on offer at garden centres.  Naff bedding predominates in most so this morning I had a look round our excellent local garden centre Riverside in the Cumberland Basin in Bristol to see what was on offer.  It’s an inspiring place with a varied and interesting collection of plants cleverly displayed with lots of information on conditions required and with very well-informed staff to give more advice.

The bedding available was limited since it’s nearly august but I loved this Isotoma ‘Pot Indigo’ which I planted last year in a terracotta pot where it produced pretty star-like  flowers all summer.

DSCN1622-001

And if I’d had a spare place to display it I would have snapped up this Nemesia ‘Wisley Vanilla’…

Perennial plants too are always interesting at Riverside.  Below is Heuchera ‘Sweet Tea’  a new variety with marmalade coloured leaves and a burgundy star in the middle of each leaf…

DSCN1618

And there are always lots of naturalistic and wildlife attracting plants on offer. Looking round today I would have loved a pot or two of Verbena bonariensis to mix with Achillea ‘Moonshine’ below…

DSCN1605

And some clumps of the purple loosestrife Lythrum salicaria ‘Robert’ …

DSCN1611

And then a couple of plants of Veronica longifolia ‘First Glory’ …

DSCN1609

On the allotment I lifted the onions and shallots and cropped French beans, courgettes, cavola nero and beetroot.

DSCN1632I also picked a bunch of marigold ‘Indian Prince’ and rather liked the combination with the tin. My attempt at making  a cutting garden has been unsuccesful since several annuals failed to germinate other than this marigold but the nasturtiums and Californian poppies self-seeded from last year and look great.

DSCN1634

It was lovely gardening there in less intense heat and with rain forecast there was less need for watering. I really value the fresh air and excercise and sense of achievement that I come away with. I think most allotment gardeners experience this so I feel for the tenants at Farm Terrace in Watford. An e-petition has been set up to save these historic allotments which are under threat from developers. A team of lawyers is fighting to save them and need our help http://www.farmterrace.btck.co.uk/please support the fight.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Sheri Eggleton permalink
    July 26, 2013 9:19 am

    I just signed for the Watford allotments campaign.

  2. July 29, 2013 1:27 pm

    Thanks for the link Sue. That looks like a great plant centre. Sarah’s allotment campaign is inspiring. Donated last week, I hope others do too.

    • July 29, 2013 2:49 pm

      It’s such a good garden centre. It always has something I’ve been looking for or that I can’t resist because of its beauty. Your trip sounded very nourishing.

Leave a Reply

