Skip to content

Balloon Festival

August 9, 2013

It was magical on the allotment yesterday evening with the first lift off on day one of the Bristol Balloon Festival.  At seven o’clock the first balloons silently emerged over the tree tops in Ashton Court and drifted low over the allotment. My favourite was this beauty which appeared to be made up of dozens of small, brightly coloured balloons…

DSCN1702

And a less refined balloon made a crazy larger than life appearance…

DSCN1711

I returned from several days away to discover I had left the lid up on my propagator and the healthy collection of seedlings ready for an autumn planting had been demolished by slugs and snails. So not looking back I went straight on-line for a supply of plugs for Winter produce and doubled my order.  I then added to the list some Oriental leaves of Tatsoi, Chinese cabbage,  Komatsuma and Mustard ‘Red Giant’ – sometimes life’s too short to sow seeds. Meanwhile the beds that held potatoes and onions are empty and forked over and the soil in both is in really good condition. These I’ll feed with 6X  ready to plant with the Brassica plugs.

DSCN1698

As someone who loves sedums I was excited to find this one Sedum ‘Jose Aubergine’ with its intense purple flower heads and green and plum leaves. It’s a perennial and grows to 38cm tall and 46cm wide so would fit in the middle layer of a deep border.

DSCN1721

From the garden this morning I picked Sedum ‘Autumn Joy’ with Ornithogalum thyrsoides for a pretty cream jug.

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 9, 2013 1:59 pm

    I also saw this, and you are right, it was very beautiful and I too look forward to this time of year. Sadly I missed the balloon of balloons though, I shall keep an eye out this evening!

Leave a Reply

