Skip to content

Autumn Fruit

September 29, 2014

autumn raspberry

I was lazy about watering my autumn raspberries this year and after months of dry weather the result was a poor crop.  So this weekend I lifted the entire row out and cut the stems back to 20cms. I thoroughly weeded the bed and forked in plenty of 6X- a commercial organic fertiliser which is six times richer than farmyard manure. The roots of raspberry canes are very near the surface of the soil which probably explains why deprived of water they performed so badly. They are now re-planted and have been given a good soak which I will do regularly throughout autumn before mulching with leaf mould in a month or two.

 

DSCN3236

A friend brought a delicious jar of  jam she’d made from two bags of mixed fruit from the supermarket freezer section and why not ? it’s simply frozen fruit.  Inspired I rounded up all the small bags of blackcurrant stashed in my freezer but decided to leave other fruit for puddings. So it’s not mixed fruit but I followed her jam making expertise which is err on under sweetened and don’t worry if it’s a bit runny.

Recipe

1 kilo of currants defrosted and the juice of 1/2 a lemon and 1 pint of water added to the preserving pan. You need to cook the fruit until it’s just split open otherwise the currants will be hard in the finished jam. I added 750 grams of granulated sugar that I’d heated in the oven for ten minutes and stirred until it had dissolved. After 20 minutes of boiling it just about wrinkled on an ice-cold plate from the freezer and made 3 pots of very tasty jam.

 

DSCN3234

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 10, 2014 1:30 pm

    I’ve promised a friend some runners from my autumn raspberries, so I need to get in to the row which has got a bit congested and see what I can find. I think I’ll wait a week or two though as I’m still getting a few fruits from them. Love the vase and flowers. Have a lovely weekend.

  2. October 10, 2014 4:17 pm

    Since the roots are very near the surface of the soil they are easy to remove. I discarded rather a lot of mine but am hoping that the ones I selected with a healthy and visible 20cms green shoot will do well. It’s a bit early to have pruned them but I’ll report back.

Leave a Reply

