Skip to content

Bulb Planting

October 6, 2014

fritillaria-meleagris-gewoehnliche-schachblume-2

I have taken a chance and planted bulbs of the exquisite Fritillaria meleagris on either side of the stepping stone to the tap. They thrive in damp meadows so these beds are the nearest I can offer and it’s open ground and not too shady with shrubs on either side.iris edward

 

The very sweetly scented reticulata iris ‘Edward’ flowers in February so I’ve filled two tall terracotta pots near the kitchen door to get the full benefit.

download (1)

On the allotment I planted 25 Ranunculus Aviv Red in the cut flower bed. I love the intense red and the tightly layered form of the flowers. The bulbs are very strange rather like a clump of bunched bananas and it’s this end that goes in the soil.

HOT TIP

It’s nothing to do with gardening or cooking but I have to pass this on. It’s how to remove pills from fabric and knitting and it works…http://www.athriftymrs.com/

 

DSCN3277

 

I rounded up nasturtiums and dahlias for my favourite pale green jug and then found it very difficult to photograph. The light was poor due to heavy rain here but the combination is lovely and it helped confirm my paint sample colours  for the kitchen walls – it’s to be a soft chalky yellow.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 10, 2014 2:33 pm

    I love nasturtiums as cut flowers. Trying to use as much natural light as possible makes for the best photos. You can use a large piece of white card or paper to reflect light back on to your flowers too. Fritillarias are stunning aren’t they? I’ve planted some too so fingers crossed for us both.

  2. October 10, 2014 4:30 pm

    I need to work on my photography and indeed it would help to study the book that came with the camera as a start!! But yes nasturtiums do it for me every time. However the paint job has been a disaster and after 2 days of painting I have to re-think the wall colour. .

Leave a Reply

