Skip to content

Reasons to be Cheerful

January 4, 2015

Signs of life are beginning to appear in the garden as new growth and flower buds emerge on the Helleborus argutifolius below…

DSCN3701

…and the ground-hugging Euphorbia robbiae is smothered in buds too…

DSCN3723

And I am delighted to have been nominated by Agents of Field for my blog post…

very-inspiring-blogger-award

Thank you so much I am sure it will be just what’s needed to keep me digging, sowing, cropping, cooking and blogging.

I nominate the following blogs:

An Urban Veg Patch

Charlott’s Garden

Veg Plotting

Ramblings from Rosebank

Peonies and Posies

And today I spotted the Forsythia suspensa which springs out of the high wall next to the kitchen door every year. I need to climb a ladder to cut it and the bare stems please me as much as the soft yellow flowers and it reminds me that spring isn’t too far off…

 

DSCN3721

7 Comments leave one →
  1. susan deakin permalink
    January 4, 2015 6:15 pm

    Well done Sue. Keep up the good work. x x x x

  2. January 7, 2015 4:58 pm

    Happy New Year! I was wondering if you still wanted to do the scented post idea you had a few months ago? Let me know what you think. 🙂

    • January 7, 2015 5:15 pm

      Hi Louise

      Yes I’€™d love to do it and I guess it will need to be monthly rather than weekly.

      Will you alert other bloggers (I’€™m hopeless with attaching such links to my blog).

      Sue

      • January 7, 2015 5:20 pm

        Brilliant. Did you want to do it starting next week? I’ll do any links. 🙂

      • January 7, 2015 5:22 pm

        Next week perfect.

        Thanks so much for doing whatever is necessary.

        Sue

  3. January 13, 2015 7:01 pm

    Hi Sue, thanks for nominating me for this award – really lovely of you! It’s exciting, isn’t it, to see everything bursting back into life. I’m lucky that the mild climate has kept many plants intact so far but I was still thrilled to see the magnolia with lots of buds on it today and catch a whiff of my Viburnum x bodnantense – amazing scent. I’m intrigued by your scented post idea, especially as I’ve just been asked to design a small front garden with scented plants as the focus! Happy New Year and all the best for 2015. Caro xx

    • January 14, 2015 10:59 am

      I like the idea of your scented front garden project. Hopefully there will be lots of ideas to gather from other bloggers with scented bulbs coming into bloom soon followed by shrubs and perennials and annuals. Last year I was very excited when I found that cosmos has a lovely scent.

Leave a Reply

