Skip to content

Winter Landscape

February 16, 2015

DSCN3868

The British landscape in winter is as thrilling as any other season and looked especially charming last weekend with herds of deer grazing in Ashton Court grounds in Bristol.

DSCN3871

And I loved the framework of this ancient tree which is seen at it’s best before the leaves emerge in spring.DSCN3874

 

A gardening friend just recommended a great pair of waterproof  gloves that are thermal down to minus 50 so perfect for this time of year.  She worked in very cold, bright weather last week in a pair of Argon thermal gloves and claims her hands and fingers stayed warm and flexible. They came from gloves.trader.uk. where I’m about to order my favourite gloves the 310 Showa grip. These too are water-proof and flexible even for the fiddliest jobs.

DSCN3790

I am following Louise at wellywoman where we try to have a scented plant from the garden, conservatory or greenhouse for every month of the year. I planted several pots of hyacinths in late-October and left them in a dark cupboard. In February I brought the last pot into the warmth and light of the kitchen and the perfume is wafting two floors up.

DSCN3875On a walk last weekend in an urban area the scent of the ground cover plant Petasites fragrans hit the senses. I’d only been aware of it since Caro’s recent mention in her blog urbanvegpatch and I’d not seen it in the flesh. It’s invasive apparently and difficult to get rid of so I’ll enjoy it on the roadside rather than here in the garden.

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 18, 2015 9:13 am

    I think it is a great idea to have a Scented Garden meme and I am joining in with you.
    thebloominggarden.wordpress.com/2015/02/17/scent-in-the-garden/
    Great to have found your lovely blog too.

  2. February 21, 2015 10:03 am

    Hi! The word “scent” in a meme and I had to come and see what it’s all about! I’m a total addict of scent in the garden and so I must join in, too!
    My February offering,
    http://thelonggardenpath.wordpress.com/2015/02/17/scent-in-the-garden/
    I’ve never come across Petasites in the flesh, but, I believe, the wild is the best place to experience it!

  3. February 21, 2015 11:34 am

    Welcome and thanks for joining in. Thus far, and it’s only month two, scented plants that are new to me are inspiring a list. I just hope I can find a space to squeeze them in.

  4. February 28, 2015 10:19 pm

    Thank you for the link, Sue. That’s a great photo of Petasites – pleased that you were able to recognise it! Thanks to yours and Lou’s meme, I’m aware of so many more plants giving winter scent. I must make time to write up what I found when I went to Wisley in search of scent!

  5. March 1, 2015 9:42 am

    Yes I was strolling along the road just before crossing over the Clifton Suspension Bridge and suddenly the air was full of a most lovely scent. Petasites was covering a huge area of public ground.

Leave a Reply

