Skip to content

Sowing and Planting

February 23, 2015

DSCN3774

The first of the broad beans The Sutton were sown mid- January and here they are four weeks later with, it has to be said, not brilliant germination. More have just been sown and placed in the heated propagator. It’s the lowest growing broad bean and needs no staking.

DSCN3885

 

I planted them out this weekend and  rather miraculously they made one full row…

DSCN3991

But I also have to try the broad bean ‘Red Epicure’. It has velvety-red scented flowers so I may plant some in a huge pot near the kitchen door.

The Lenten Rose ‘Winter Moonbeam’ is new to my hellebore border and is looking gorgeous. The soft cream flowers are shaded pink and apple green and are nestling in variegated, mottled, dark green leaves.

DSCN4006

A gift of vibrant red tulips improved this vase of evergreen euphorbias and hebes which was all I could find in the garden to pick this week. Tulips are about the only cut flower that I buy -I simply can’t resist the reminder that winter is almost over. I love their form and the huge variety of colours they offer plus they have a relatively long vase life.DSCN3881

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 23, 2015 7:03 pm

    Did you mention the word scented? A broad bean? I love your idea to plant them in a pot by the back door. I may copy, if you don’t mind!

  2. February 24, 2015 9:39 am

    Please do. I fancy sowing some in Mid-March as any later and they get too fleshy at the expense of the bean pods. If it works I’ll blog them !!!

  3. February 24, 2015 10:10 am

    Don’t like to rock the boat but Red Epicure isn’t the Crimson Flowered broad bean. The Crimson Flowered is called just that. Red Epicure has lovely big tasty red seeds. Perhaps the best flavoured of all of them to my mind. Both of them have lovely scent. T&M and Robinsons have the Crimson Flowered. A few bloggers got mixed up and it has been copied from one to another, including some small and careless seed vendors. Unwins and Marshalls do Red Epicure. You need to be aware when calculating quantities that the Crimson Flowered beans are much smaller and it only has three or four to a pod. Red Epicure has big seeds and is a long pod type with lots of beans.

  4. February 24, 2015 10:33 am

    Hi Kathryn- I’d spotted the Crimson Flowered broad beans in the D.T. Brown catalogue and thought they looked lovely but there was no mention of scent. So I’ve played safe and bought those as well as Red Epicure. But that’s ok we like broad beans and I’ll look out some good recipes for summer.Thanks for clarifying.

  5. March 2, 2015 1:32 pm

    You might find that you get better germination if you soak the seeds before sowing – Christina from http://www.myhesperidesgarden.com told me that is common practice in Italy. I have lost all my autumn sown broad beans to mice – I must follow your example and get my February sown batch out into the garden – those little baby broad beans are one of the first treats of summer aren’t they!

Leave a Reply

