Skip to content

Fritillaria meleagris

April 6, 2015

The lesser celandine is back with a vengeance in my garden and I’m trying my hardest to ignore it knowing that it will dissolve into the soil at the end of April.

DSCN4274

But I really resent the fact that it’s competing with the Fritillaria meleagris bulbs planted in autumn near the garden tap to ensure damp soil.

DSCN4265

The chequered bells emerged a few days ago and are really lovely but spoilt by the mass of green groundcover that they now have to push through. Sorry Monty Don but I don’t share your love of celandines, well not in a small town garden.

I used up the last of the gooseberries from the freezer in Dennis Cotter’s gooseberry and elderflower parfait thetimes.co.uk I am giving this fruit one last summer then I’m very tempted to rid the bed of two quite large shrubs that yield a kilo of fruit between them and most of which sits in the freezer for nine months.  I could buy that amount and devote the space to produce that can be consumed for weeks or even months on end.

DSCN4273

 

 

The huge blackberries, Black Butte-Floricane, were also in the freezer and were picked last October from a friend’s garden.  This variety can produce up to 5 kg of fruit per plant when established.

More early potatoes were slotted in at the end of two long beds at the weekend: two rows of Charlotte and 2 rows of Maris Piper.  I love new potatoes and they crop relatively early leaving space for repeat sowing of beetroot, spinach, salad leaves and lettuce in July.

There’s a very subtle scent from the Clematis armandii ‘Snowdrift’ climbing through the railings up the steps. It was planted last autumn in a large terracotta pot which I packed with bubble wrap in the hopes of keeping the roots cool. It starts as a very pretty creamy-green bud and then opens to a pure white flower with white stamens.

DSCN4259

 

The Tulipa turkestanica are also in flower so I picked a couple for a blue glass vase…

DSCN4252

 

A pot of Forget-me-Not at this time of year is a definite reminder that spring is here…

DSCN4263

 

7 Comments leave one →
  1. April 6, 2015 10:15 am

    I have the same problem as you with the dreaded Celandine. I know it disappears completely, but what a mess it looks now. And, it’ s impossible to get rid of. I felt quite comforted to see that Beth Chatto has it running through some of her beds. Lovely Clematis and dainty tulips.

  2. April 6, 2015 11:01 am

    Yes I feel bad about dismissing it when the flowers are so pretty but the leaf is like pond weed. I’ve tried hard to eradicate it but it bounces back rather cheerily every year.

  3. April 6, 2015 2:56 pm

    I feel the same way about the gooseberry bush that I have here. All leaf and no fruit for the past two summers (I wonder if they take a few years to hit their stride?). A neighbour’s identical gooseberry is already looking lush with leaves and fruit buds while mine is barely in leaf (hers gets more evening sun). I’m already planning what can go in that space, perhaps a cape gooseberry rather than a Hinnonmaki! It’s lovely to see the tulips coming into flower – I hope the winds stay low!

    • April 12, 2015 12:03 pm

      Just thought I’d see if this message might go to your blog since I can never manage to leave a comment on it. There ‘s much on the web about that particular difficulty maybe taking off dis-enable (albeit there to prevent spam )might resolve it.

  4. April 6, 2015 3:15 pm

    Hi Caro

    They take up a lot of space and quite a lot of effort for small returns is my feeling. Yes fab tulips full of fat buds here and almost as thrilling as when they fully open.

  5. April 10, 2015 7:15 am

    I think you are right about the gooseberry bushes, I feel much the same about the Asparagus bed, which doesn’t produce that much but is there all year, last year I grew sunflowers in between when it had finished cropping but really it isn’t worth it. I am almost sure it will become another cut flower bed. Lucky you to be able to plant lettuces in July, it is much too hot here for them to thrive.

  6. April 10, 2015 8:14 am

    My asparagus bed is also on last orders or out! And yes to more cut flowers.

Leave a Reply

