Skip to content

Roses and Alliums

June 12, 2015

DSCN4734

Allium multibulbosum has opened and is looking very cool in the first parterre. I love the height and that it needs no support and it’s on my list for buying plenty more bulbs this autumn.

DSCN4714Rosa Madame Alfred Carriere planted to cover a shady garden wall has flowered for the first time. The very fragrant double blooms are white with a pink flush and it should flower constantly into autumn. I cut three stems for the kitchen table and although they lasted just three days in water the scent was heavenly…

DSCN4700-001

 

Within moments of the broad beans being full of flowers the pods have formed and we had our first taste last night…

DSCN4707

And the garlic leaves have turned a papery-white so I forked one up to examine the size and decided to lift the whole lot to dry them off in the sun…

DSCN4710

Nettle Tea anyone? Wearing gloves I filled a 2 gallon plastic bucket with cut stinging nettles then placed a brick on top and filled to the top with water. It’s now covered with a plastic bag and will be left for three weeks behind the water-butt on the allotment. Diluted 1 part tea to 10 parts water it makes a nutritious feed especially good for dahlias and sweet peas. It will be my reward for the rescued dahlias which are now planted in the cutting bed and looking very healthy.

DSCN4739

 

A packet of twenty plant clips in two different sizes has been an excellent buy from Poundland. You simply squeeze them open and gather the climbing bean or sweet pea to the bamboo cane and clip it gently to the support. No need to even take your gardening gloves off let alone hunt for twine and scissors.

DSCN4706

 

Every year I plant thyme in the mixed border in the garden and within a month or two it has disappeared for ever. This year I planted in a terracotta pot that sits on the garden table and it’s thriving. My theory is it gets far less watering and has full sun and both are exactly what it likes.

DSCN4713

 

This un-named rose climbs through the garden railings up the steps and is very sweet cut with G. Psilostemon and with ‘Love-in-a-Mist’ which self-seeds everywhere on the allotment and is very welcome.

 

DSCN4731

DSCN4692

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 12, 2015 1:51 pm

    I’ll try your tip with the thyme.. I’ve had exactly the same problem.

  2. June 12, 2015 3:01 pm

    Yes I’m really pleased since thyme is such a great herb and I use it regularly. It’s been in this pot for twelve weeks now so is obviously getting just what it needs.

  3. June 13, 2015 1:37 pm

    I love your flower arrangements. Your broad beans are early, did you sow them in the Autumn?
    I add Comfrey to my nettle tea. Symphytum Blocking 14 which doesn’ t seed everywhere. It is rich in Potassium and Potash as well as Nitrogen. It smells terrible though.

  4. June 14, 2015 9:31 am

    Hi Chloris

    The broad beans were sown in march and planted out early april. I never do as well when i plant before Christmas. I decided on nettle tea because there were so many growing near the water butts and compost bins and I was constantly getting stung. I’ll try comfrey next if I can cope with the smell.

Leave a Reply

