Skip to content

Dividing up Herbaceous Plants

June 25, 2015

I rescued the two lack-lustre Achillea ‘Moonshine’ from the bed that the slugs had taken over and it was easy to ease the roots apart at the base to make eight new plants. I shall do the same with the Geranium psilostemon and re-plant that at the back of a border.

DSCN4808

The achillea will go in the main sunny bed where they seem to be thriving and with no apparent slug damage…

DSCN4813

A three-hour weeding session on the allotment left it looking great again and exposed several rows of beetroot and spinach sown from seed weeks ago and then forgotten about. I sowed more of each plus various perennial flowers Salvia ‘patens’, Verbascum ‘Summer Charm’ and Scabiosa ‘Drakensbergensis’.

DSCN4812

These allotment raspberries and strawberries were pureed with a small amount of caster sugar and made into ice-cream.

RECIPE

 Beat 1 pt double cream  with 397 g of condensed milk (half a tin) until it forms soft peaks and then fold in the fruit puree and freeze.

DSCN4850

The allotment broad beans are badly hit by blackfly but I washed the pods before pushing the beans out and they are un-blemished. A surplus was transformed into a pea and broad bean hummus recipe which was in my head but I think came from Hugh F W originally.

RECIPE

Cook a cupful of podded broad beans and a cupful of peas (frozen or fresh) together for 3 minutes in boiling salted water. Cool then puree with 100 ml olive oil and a handful of mint leaves plus 50 gm of grated Parmesan cheese. Served on toasted sour dough bread it was delicious.

DSCN4833

Allium ‘Ivory Queen’ was in bloom for weeks in the garden and although now gone to seed it still looks very pretty.  It’s mixed here in a vase with the seed pods of Nigella ‘Love in a Mist’.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 26, 2015 10:16 am

    I’m pleased to hear it’s not just my achilleas which have been mauled by slugs. Sorry, that’s a bit schadenfreude isn’t it? 😉 I have a bit of a love/hate relationship with achilleas. They don’t do well for me in the garden (they thrive on the allotment). Loving the vase of alliums and nigellas – it looks very fresh. Have a lovely weekend.

    • June 26, 2015 2:23 pm

      Yes I was pleased with the cut flowers and how the most unlikely combinations work in the vase.

      Have a good weekend too.

  2. June 26, 2015 2:05 pm

    Really like the sound of your broad bean hummus, that’s one for my recipe book. I’ll be trying it out as soon as I have broad beans. They’re a way off as I only have flowers (and blackfly) at the moment. I mistakenly planted achillea in the veg garden last year, thinking it was a dainty little thing. Oops. I now have a monster plant, bigger than my globe artichokes! It will obviously have to go which is sad as it’s flowered for the first time this year. I’ll take your advice and try splitting and replanting it – it will be much better at the back of my dry border!

    • June 26, 2015 2:25 pm

      I bet your globe artichokes look good at this time of year. Do split and re-plant the achillea -they make great cut flowers with purple salvias.

  3. June 27, 2015 11:50 am

    Thanks for the Follow re Barn house garden, I’m very new to this so really appreciate the wonderful world of blogging, I learn so much. I really like the mix of plants, recipes and flower arrangements in your post. Plus, I am in awe of your ability to propagate them, I love them, but even purchased plants have always keeled over in my garden. But, we can grow common Yarrow even where we don’t want it!

  4. June 27, 2015 1:27 pm

    I find propagating herbaceous perennials relatively easy providing they are kept watered. Sometimes it’s safest to re-plant in pots till they are robust but it’s definitely the cheapest way to increase plant stocks. Incidentally I think your garden is very interesting and can see why Welly Woman was keen to share it.

Leave a Reply

