Skip to content

Night-Scented Stock

July 17, 2015

A trough of night-scented stock on a windowsill behind a garden seat was looking very pretty in a neighbour’s garden…

DSCN4939

 

And in a busy street in London this planting of lupins and foxgloves added privacy to a window very near the pavement …

DSCN4662

 

The garden here is looking a bit faded unlike the cutting bed on the allotment which is about to burst into life. It was difficult to find much to pick this week other than R. Pink Carpet, Clematis jackmanii and Stipa tenuissima…

DSCN4953

but the sweet peas are flowering on the allotment …

DSCN4931

And there are pops of colour in the garden with Crocosmia ‘Lucifer’ and Buddleia ‘Black Knight’…

DSCN4958

DSCN4957

The seeds of fennel and globe artichoke sown two weeks ago are through the compost and will be potted on in a week or two. Both will be kept in the cold frame until they are really robust and it will be next spring before the globe artichokes are planted out on the allotment.
DSCN4956

Our allotment association is registered with Blightwatch to help the nationwide fight against blight. A system known as Smith Periods is used to register hourly temperatures and recordings of relative humidity in a specific post code. A warning will then be given at a moment’s notice and tomatoes and potatoes can be lifted if there’s a potential threat. We are free of blight so far but I found myself digging up spuds for supper and then found it impossible to stop.  There’s something magical about forking up the soil and finding waxy yellow treasures in the earth. They’ll be kept in the cool and dark to keep them fresh over the next week or two…

DSCN4960

 

8 Comments leave one →
  1. July 17, 2015 9:31 am

    I love night-scented stock and have a few planters of them on the patio, although they look a tad unruly. The sweet peas on the plot are flowering for me now. It has felt an odd year with a lot of plants taking a long time to get going. I only grow early spuds as I don’t have the space for maincrops and I don’t think I’d ever have a successful crop due to blight. I started digging my spuds up last week. I didn’t do any last year and I really missed them. There’s nothing quite like rummaging around in the soil and finding your bounty. 🙂 Have a lovely weekend.

  2. July 17, 2015 10:28 am

    Yes growing and finding potatoes taps into a very primitive need.

    You too have a lovely weekend.

  3. July 17, 2015 10:28 am

    What a perfect place to use the night scented stock! And, a lovely cross section of all the goodies in your garden/allotment, the potatoes tempting. We have blight where we live in not-quite-Wales, the many and various molds are having a ball, so lots of leaves are looking worse for wear. Mostly, we grow early potatoes and quick to fruit cherry tomatoes to try and beat. If you have time, I’d be interested to know which variety of globe artichoke you’ve sown and which supplier you use.

  4. July 17, 2015 10:51 am

    Yes the night scented stock looked lovely and it was next to a garden dining area. I’ve made a note for next year and even ordered some seeds on ebay. The Franchi fennel Montebianco seeds and Artichoke Green Globe (chucked the empty packet so not sure of seed supplier for those) were both found on ebay. They arrived within a couple of days and were very good value and obviously sound.

  5. July 17, 2015 1:11 pm

    Ahh, it is all too easy to forget flowers like night-scented stock in the rush for new and unusual things. Great to be reminded, thanks.

  6. July 20, 2015 4:09 pm

    I love looking at the window boxes on London streets, people can be so inventive! I planted nicotiana in the garden this year and wish I’d kept them upstairs on my balcony (or a window box) so the scent was nearby. Live and learn, eh? My sweet peas haven’t flowered yet (I planted them out quite late) so I’ve still got colour to look forward to but I agree with Wellywoman, some plants have taken ages to get going this year. It’s very satisfying growing a huge plant from seed – I did the same with my globe artichoke, a purple one, can’t remember who the seeds were from!

Leave a Reply

