Skip to content

Scent in the Garden July

July 31, 2015

Other than Buddleja ‘Black Night’ July has proved to be a bit of a challenge for scented flowers…

DSCN4957

But the honeysuckle Lonicera japonica ‘Halliana’ has found its way along a sunny wall mingling with and following on from the climbing roses and providing lots of heady perfume… DSCN5016

And I’m really enjoying the scent when brushing past the aromatic leaves of Geranium macrorhizum and Artemesia absinthium ‘Lambrook Silver’ in the borders.

A pot outside the kitchen door of lemon verbena -Aloysia triphylla with its intensely fragrant lemon-scented leaves is lovely and makes an excellent herb tea…

DSCN5024

In another pot the pineapple sage-Salvia elegance is very pretty and it’s tempting to rub the leaves of both whilst walking through the kitchen door…DSCN5031

On the allotment the sweet peas are providing two pickings a week at the moment and filling the kitchen with scent…

DSCN5023

 

11 Comments leave one →
  1. July 31, 2015 8:28 am

    I have lemon verbena and love the tissane I make with it; it grows to quite a large woody shrub in my garden but even here it might not be hardy if we have a very cold winter. every spring I think it hasn’t made it through winter as it is always very late into leaf.

  2. July 31, 2015 8:42 am

    I’ve taken cuttings and will try to keep those indoors over winter. I intend wrapping the large pot in bubble wrap if we get a frost warning. I loved your cutting bed plants in your last post.

  3. July 31, 2015 12:11 pm

    I like the aroma of geranium machorhizzum too, although not everyone does. It reminds me of eau de cologne and seems to have a citrus note. You have an interesting selection of scented foliage, never mind flowers to enjoy in your garden. Thank you for sharing them and reminding me to brush the leaves of plants too.

  4. July 31, 2015 3:51 pm

    Smells are oddly personal aren’t they? Not many of my chums like the scent of that particular geranium but I adore it. I add it to small posies of flowers and stroke the leaves whilst sipping my tea.

  5. August 1, 2015 8:51 am

    Your scented foliage is lovely but it has to be in ‘brush past’ reach. To that end I’m going to re-locate my purple- flowered salvia which is buried in a border and enjoy it up close. I had B. Black Knight for a while but I really don’t like the scent of buddleias. Scent is so subjective isn’t it? Like you I adore the scent (and feel) of G. maccrorhizum.

  6. August 1, 2015 3:07 pm

    I visited a great garden in Cornwall last week -Trematon Castle – and I’ll blog it next week. They had huge pots of scented geraniums and lilies on the terraces. It made me think more about scented plants in pots and how sensible it is to position them near the house.

  7. August 2, 2015 1:40 pm

    I had to go and smell a buddleia after reading this! I kept a pot of lemon verbena on my balcony – such a heavenly smell! – but killed it by overwatering last winter. It’s now been replaced and have planted the new one in the garden. My fave brush-past is the golden oregano by the path in the veg patch – I nearly always accidentally tread on a bit while wandering in the garden. I’ve got roses, oregano, lavender, sweet peas and nicotiana scenting the garden this month – and the smell of jasmine from a neighbouring garden!

  8. August 2, 2015 1:50 pm

    Yes i forgot to mention golden marjoram on the allotment which I regularly get a lovely herby whiff of when gardening. And I need to find a space for jasmine since I ate supper in a garden recently and its lovely scent filled the air all evening.

  9. August 3, 2015 11:58 am

    Wonderful post–every fragrance filled with memories and filled with pleasant hopes! Thank you.

  10. August 3, 2015 3:00 pm

    Thank you.

Leave a Reply

