Skip to content

Scent in the Garden August

August 27, 2015

 

DSCN5235

The Clerodendrum trichotomum is scenting the garden and is my plant of the month for perfume. It was purchased as a standard tree about fifteen years ago and I’ve learned from experience that it responds to a hard prune in spring to keep it in shape.

DSCN5229

The mixed gladioli bulbs were planted in April more as a test to find out if the badger was still patrolling the allotment. For two years running glads were a favourite snack along with sweetcorn, parsnips and carrots.  The sweetcorn is still standing (the cobs are yet to ripen-the ultimate test) and carrots, parsnips and celeriac have disappeared from other plots but the gladioli remain untouched. This mixed bunch opened their tissue-paper flowers last week and two favourites stand out – lime green and pale lilac – so I shall order more of these next year.

Plant Clips are back in Poundland…

DSCN5240

and I spotted these sacks for keeping the potatoes airy and dry.  Two good Christmas presents maybe?

DSCN5237

On the allotment at the weekend I sowed rows of spinach and flat-leaf parsley. It’s rained solidly for the last four days so I may need to repeat the excercise.

DSCN5242

Plants from Sarah Raven’s Dark Dahlia Collection have started flowering.  I mixed these deep red ones with Rosa glauca, a great contrast with the grey-green leaves and the sprays of orange hips, and then added three stems of Arum italicum ‘Winter White’ which is now dormant and producing spectacular orange berries.DSCN5250

 

12 Comments leave one →
  1. August 27, 2015 10:20 am

    We’ve had badgers in the garden here; there is some kind of lay line from one corner of the garden to the diagonal opposite. They burrowed under the fences on several occasions. Wildlife is a problem; in theory we want it all but when it comes to the point, we prefer most of it ‘out there’ and not on our patch. I’m amazed that your gladioli are only just flowering, mine finished here before we came back from our holiday (beginning of July) and I’m sure when I grew them in the UK they flowered in July. I like the lime green one too, I must look out for it.

  2. August 27, 2015 11:17 am

    I guess I planted the gladioli bulbs quite late but they are a very welcome surprise and I might do the same next year. Lime green is a favourite colour for me since it mixes so well with both soft and strong hues in other cut flowers.

  3. August 27, 2015 6:31 pm

    Nice to see those hips of rosa glauca in your arrangement and the arum stems. We have a patch of A. italicum lighting up a corner of the garden, but it never occurred to pick them (warned of their poisonous nature as a child I guess). P.s. Those hessian sacks look useful!

  4. August 28, 2015 8:36 am

    I picked dahlias and calendulas on the allotment and then got home and could see nothing to put them with. But it’s amazing what suddenly pops into view and I have to say the combination works brilliantly.

  5. August 28, 2015 3:04 pm

    I’m really sorry to have missed the scented garden post this month. It’s just been a bit of a frustrating month with various things. I was never great at keep a diary so keeping up a year of scented posts was always going to be a struggle. 😉

    I can’t decide whether I like gladioli or not. Last year they suffered from a variety of pests and I thought I’d dug them all out but some escapees have surfaced this year. I love the rich purple ones but the petals have been marked by the rain. I find them tricky to use in arrangements too because of their size. I do like the lime green though. Very unusual.

    I love Rosa glauca. It’s on my wish list the colour of the leaves is so pretty. Hope you have a lovely weekend. 🙂

    • August 29, 2015 5:18 pm

      Don’t worry I fear that the rest of this year will be without scent in my garden. Yes I too am not sure that gladioli are quite me but they take up little room and are inexpensive as bulbs so I’ll plant a few more.

  6. August 29, 2015 4:22 pm

    Your lime green gladioli is so striking, both look perfect too, fine blooms with tissue paper thin petals are suffering greatly here with the rain and overcast weather, so it’s good to see other people are enjoying better luck ….

  7. August 29, 2015 5:14 pm

    Yes I’m a bit ambivalent about gladioli but since they are taking up little room in the Autumn raspberry bed I shall try them again.

  8. August 30, 2015 9:11 am

    I do love flowers in a vase but am always aware that flowers will last longer if left to grow. As I don’t have many flowers, I usually leave them. I did succumb to picking when I had loads of feverfew, geums and calendula earlier this year (and may do so again as I have lime green nicotiana at the moment). Gladioli always look rather exotic to me – probably reminiscent of the hibiscus of my Caribbean childhood years – so I rather like them, but have never grown them. I might have to check out the colours available …

  9. August 30, 2015 11:19 am

    Lime green nicotiana with orange calendulas would be pretty awesome.

  10. August 30, 2015 8:33 pm

    I love the scent of Clerodendron, I think it is the most fragrant plant in the garden in August. I am joining in the Scent in the Garden meme again this month if a little late, I just made it for August.

  11. August 31, 2015 8:01 am

    Thanks so much for joining in and introducing several scented plants that are new to me.

Leave a Reply

