Skip to content

Know Your Onions

October 22, 2015

I planted 100 Sen Shyu Yellow onions last weekend in the beds that had previously grown beetroot and salad leaves. Japanese onion sets are great for Autumn planting and should be planted in ground that has not been recently fertilised.  And three garlic bulbs were split to give 24 cloves and were planted in the bed that had contained early potatoes. The garlic crop was brilliant this year and I have enough stored to take me into next spring. A large bundle of spring greens were rounded up at the garden centre and planted in the brassica bed to add to the cabbages.

The Brussels sprouts are such handsome plants and growing a pace in time for Christmas…DSCN5620

I moved two mature shrubs this week that were planted for their scent three years ago. The Viburnum  bodnantense ‘Dawn’ and Osmanthus fragrans came out of the ground relatively easily with just a bit of forking and tugging for the final roots.  They were then re-planted into deep containers either side of the kitchen door. Here they are…

DSCN5605


DSCN5608

I was feeling very pleased for getting instant form from these mature plants and for freeing up a bed for roses and herbaceous plants. Two days later on a cold and windy afternoon I planted the onion and garlic and ticked off all these projects for Autumn. Since then I have barely been able to move with excruciating back pain and am dosed up on all manner of pain-killers. The lesson I think is all things in moderation especially when working in damp and chilly weather.

There’s a firework display from Amelanchier canadensis at the end of the garden…

DSCN5614

It was a good summer for Agapanthus and I’ve left the flower heads on several pots of this gorgeous plant. The extraordinary flowers look very dramatic at night when the security light comes on…
DSCN5612

Meanwhile the cosmos and nasturtiums continue to bloom…DSCN5624

11 Comments leave one →
  1. October 22, 2015 11:03 am

    Good luck with the onions, I lost my whole crop this year by harvesting them when the ground was too wet, they all went mouldy very, very quickly. The garlic was much better and should last me until the next season’s crop is ready. The colours of the Amelanchier canadensis are wonderful, I would love to have this tree which is supposed to be relatively drought tolerant.

    • October 23, 2015 7:59 am

      Amelanchier is recommended for dry sites but not sure about very hot climates.

      • October 23, 2015 8:04 am

        They sell them in the north of Italy so I might be able to grow one.

  2. October 22, 2015 6:19 pm

    Well done on getting your onions in. I’ve mostly given up on the whole allium family in the vegetable plot ‘cos we get awful rust (even on garlic and chives!). Lovely to have scented trees by your doors.

  3. October 22, 2015 7:11 pm

    Yes scent in the area where we sit and eat seemed like a good addition to the pots and planting outside. And having boasted about my garlic I have to admit that the onions this year were small and had signs of virus. But ever the optimist I’ve tried again!!

  4. October 23, 2015 10:09 pm

    Ouch. Take care of that back. Been there and it’s not funny.

  5. October 24, 2015 7:58 am

    Love the agapanthus left with its shaggy heads of seed pods! Take care of you back, easy to say, I know, when there’s so much to do below waist height.

  6. October 24, 2015 8:21 am

    Yes I,m so pleased with the agapanthus and I guess it helps feed the roots rather like leaving the heads on daffodils.

  7. October 25, 2015 10:13 am

    I’ve got V. Bodnantense ‘Dawn’ and Osmanthus Burkwoodii planted in the garden for scent. Interestingly two new roses which I planted into large terracotta pots this year have done really well. I’ve been able to control the feeding (comfrey tea) and watering, they are right under my nose and therefore easy to sniff and deadhead and I can move them in and out of the limelight with my new inherited trolley. Look after your back. As I get older I find it really important to warm up (I have a bad shoulder) before tackling any heavy work. I’m resting my allotment soil from too many alliums so I just do garlic and leeks nowadays.

  8. October 25, 2015 10:28 am

    Gosh I like the sound of roses in containers. I find myself strongly attracted to old-fashioned shrub roses especially the repeat-flowering ones. Yes gardening in damp and cold is a recipe for disaster and I won’t be doing it again !!

Leave a Reply

