Skip to content

Strawberry Runners

October 30, 2015

The strawberry bed is four years old and it needs serious attention dotted as it is with couch grass and other weeds. The fruit declines after four or five years but can easily be renewed by propagating healthy young runners in late summer. Strawberries do this quite naturally on their own (helped by pegging down) but on the allotment they’ve spread onto the paths and the beds are crowded out with both old and new plants. So in August I selected 14 of the best disease-free parent crowns and from these I cut four runners each – about 56 plants in total and brought them home to pot up into 9 cm pots of fresh compost. The plantlets will stay in their pots until spring when they’ll be planted in rows at the end of the extended strawberry bed. These can then be identified as the youngest plants in the bed and will need to have their flowers pinched off to stop them fruiting and to get further established. Any of the really old parent plants will be discarded but there should be enough strawberries from last year’s runners  for picking next summer…DSCN5665

 

Talking of berries there’s a profusion of juicy red ones on the half-standard holly tree in the garden. This is meant to be a sign of a very cold winter to come…DSCN5661

This week the cut flowers are nasturtiums …

DSCN5651

7 Comments leave one →
  1. October 30, 2015 12:45 pm

    Haven’t the nasturtiums been amazing this year?

    • October 30, 2015 12:53 pm

      Yes and I love seeing them sprawling over the ground almost as much as seeing them in a vase.

  2. October 30, 2015 1:01 pm

    I love your dark spherical vase, what a gorgeous shape and the Nasturtiums are just right for it. I also feel that it is going to be a hard winter this year although I don’t have any secret method for prophesying, just that already there are signs that the winter will be longer than usual, we’ve already had the fire alight and the heating on very early morning.

  3. October 30, 2015 1:29 pm

    Yes this is a favourite container given to me by my lovely daughter-in-law. It’s actually made of wood so has to be used with a jam jar rather than filling it up with water. I love the cool design though.

  4. October 31, 2015 9:48 am

    Me too, the wooden vase is wonderful. What a perfect gift, the nasturtiums suit it.

  5. November 3, 2015 6:52 pm

    You are good, transplanting those runners and keeping track of the age of your plants. I tried having a designated strawberry bed but it became a bit of a slug magnet and the runners were hard to control. Most of my strawberries are just ground cover now and haven’t fruited at all this year so I guess their time is up. I may replace a few but have yet to find a really tasty strawberry to grow at home – possibly my fault with the lack of a decent watering system! Which plants have you found to be good, Sue?

  6. November 3, 2015 7:17 pm

    I think I bought Cambridge Favourite which it has to be said had a good couple of years and thereafter provided not much more than lovely snacks for me when working in the sun on the allotment. So with that fact now out in the open I am determined to improve my strawberry bed for 2016 . I have gradually realised that timing is all when growing fruit and veg so I’ll weed the strawberry bed early in Spring and then I’ll feed them and then of course I’ll keep the birds off as they ripen. Simples – watch this space

Leave a Reply

