Skip to content

Rich Chocolate Brainies

November 27, 2015

DSCN5771

 

This recipe came from Kale and Cocoa a great blog all about eating and cooking really health-giving foods-and yes chocolate is good for you! The site makes fascinating reading and affirmed for me why some foods always leave me feeling healthy and energetic when others have the opposite effect.  And because I try to vary our diet I probably wouldn’t cook with dried beans more than once a week even though they are cheap, convenient and nutritious. Well the blog recommends watching this Ted Talk Dan Buettner on the benefits of eating beans every day. 

I’ve long defended eating kale or spinach or chard twice in the same week since I grow them and eating them leaves me feeling energised. Reading Kale and Cocoa on keeping the gut healthy with greens means I will never again defend eating them regularly and I plan to plant even more next year. The blog links to new research on health and diet and there’s a useful section on appropriate food for health issues i.e.high blood pressure, breast cancer, eyes, heart conditions etc etc prompting some very exciting recipes. Here’s one that I made for lunch the Kale Ceasar Salad

DSCN5791

I steamed the kale for two minutes and added the anchovy dressing, croutons and parmesan.  I am stocking up on nuts, seeds, lentils, grains and pulses and will be following their recipes and preparing them regularly from now on.

The spent flower-heads of agapanthus and fatsia are drying in the kitchen then moving on to the airing cupboard.  They’ll be sprayed silver in a week or two and if you don’t hear another thing on the subject you’ll know I’ve gone hot  foot to Ikea for emergency Christmas decorations…

DSCN5785

 

This week the posy is Calamintha nepeta and a prostrate rosemary with an un-named rose all having a second flush.  These little gatherings raise the spirits and take up no room either on the kitchen table or my desk and always surprise me when I think the garden is devoid of flowers.

DSCN5779

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 28, 2015 12:14 pm

    Thumbs up for chocolate and kale, I need no persuasion! Your agapanthus seed heads are surprisingly green. Are they very late flowering?

  2. November 28, 2015 12:24 pm

    All the agapanthus flowered at the same time and for weeks on end this summer. I have about five huge pots of this my favourite plant and as they went over some heads turned brown others stayed green. Hopefully they will all dry to a crisp papery-brown over the next two weeks.

  3. November 29, 2015 8:37 am

    Lovely seed heads, the fatsia is a wonderful idea. Do they last? It’s always good to have new recipes for things that are good for you and delicious, thank you.

  4. November 29, 2015 9:23 am

    I’ll let you know if the fatsia flowers dry to a state that is worthy of spraying. Yes the Kale and Cocoa blog is so inspiring especially the section on foods for certain conditions.

Leave a Reply

