Skip to content

A Frosty Morning

January 20, 2016

The beautiful frosted leaves on the Euphorbia robbiae…

DSCN6116

And on the arums and lamiums…

DSCN6117

And on the foxgloves…

DSCN6118

And even the tiny primrose …

DSCN6119

So nothing for it-we need to think about spring and ordering seeds.

A list at the front of my gardening journal is growing a pace based on new varieties and rave reviews from other growers.  Thus far it contains:

Tall Purple Podded Peas from Pennard Plants

DSCN6098

 

La Diva cucumber a climber

Oregon Sugar Pod peas

White Silver 2 AGM chard

Munchkin climbing squash from Sarah Raven

Spinach ‘Tetona’

Burpees Golden beetroot

Beetroot Mixture to include Chioggia, Detroit, Egyptian Flat and others found in Poundland

DSCN6083

Any recommendations would be gratefully received.

I was moaning to a friend how much I’d love a potting shed last week and he said ‘but you already have one don’t you, that huge garden shed with windows down one side?’ I’d considered it once before but was daunted by the quantities of old paint tins and ancient DIY items that tend to get shoved in and ignored.  But thinking about it there’s probably just about enough sun on the window side and there’s a huge bench along the length there for potting up seedlings protected from the elements. So highly motivated I plan to clean the windows and to drastically reduce the contents over the next few weeks.

DSCN6084

A pot of lovely Daffodil Tete a Tete is cheering up the kitchen. These were emerging through a hydrangea and hardly visible so I lifted them as a clump to remind me that spring was not too far away. Oh and the ornithologist from next door called in…

The_Ornithologist

11 Comments leave one →
  1. January 20, 2016 11:54 am

    Cleaning the shed sounds daunting but will be well worth while for some early sowings!

    • January 20, 2016 12:03 pm

      I took a photograph of the chaotic interior this morning but was too ashamed to blog it. I shall enjoy transforming it as soon as the weather warms up and can already imagine ideas for new planting on the window side.

  2. January 20, 2016 8:03 pm

    I had that problem too. My solution? To get “Mr. Chef” his own shed for the paint tins, tools etc. I can now get into “My” garden shed!

  3. January 20, 2016 11:11 pm

    I have the seed catalogs scattered across my desk so I can make up my wish list before shortening it into something a bit more reasonable.

  4. January 20, 2016 11:22 pm

    Lovely idea to have a potting shed, it’s great to spend time in the garden protected from the elements. Before moving here I converted a summer house to a potting shed/greenhouse. Apart from nearly burning it down one night with a paraffin heater it worked a treat!

    • January 21, 2016 8:57 am

      Sorry to laugh but because of the weather I had been thinking how could I heat it to work out there. I’ll now wait till it gets warmer.

  5. January 22, 2016 10:58 am

    Oohh … that sounds a very worthwhile project. Look forward to hearing about progress. I am off to a seedswap this weekend at the village hall, so I am hopeful of picking up some interesting things! Must look for my nearest Poundland too.

  6. January 22, 2016 11:49 am

    Yes I’ve started with the first trip to the city dump and I’ve even found the stain for the wood waiting to be re-applied. This alone would improve the look of it considerably.

Leave a Reply

