Skip to content

Pea Shoots

January 28, 2016

 

DSCN6135

 

These were sown about three weeks ago from a packet of supermarket dried marrowfat peas and kept indoors in front of the only accessible window. And whilst a bit leggy the tops are refreshingly delicious and there are more to come planted in containers outside…

DSCN6146

They germinated slowly outside but burst into leaf prompted by the frosty weather last week. They are filling up the pots containing the scented tulips the idea being that by the time the tulips emerge the pea shoots will be eaten and over. Full of vitamin C and with a lovely fresh pea flavour they make a great salad added to other leaves or stirred into a risotto towards the end of cooking.

DSCN6151

Broad beans sown at the same time have germinated too but not all of them.  There are signs of emerging green shoots in the gaps and all will be planted out in mid-February and another batch sown this weekend. And the potatoes are chitting in the warmth of the kitchen: Charlotte (lovely waxy flesh and great in salads), Cara (splendid roasted as wedges), Lady Christi (1st early that can be left to grow on) and Pentland (a maincrop and good for mashing).

There’s been stop start progress on the shed but with the windows cleaned it looks tons better and I’m about to apply the second coat of creosote.

DSCN6155

We’ve had one conversation which stopped progress for half a day and it went: ‘What are those doing there’? (5 rusty Cow & Gate powdered milk tins vintage 1950’s full of rusty screws). Me ‘Waiting for my next trip to the city dump’. Husband ‘But I want them’. Me ‘They came from my dad’s shed and I definitely don’t want them-in fact here are four even larger tins also full of rusty items that came from your dad’s shed.  Would you like to keep those?’ Silence.

I put mine out on the pavement and an hour later they’d gone. My guess is they are now happily resting in some other garden shed.

DSCN6143

The Sarcococca hookeriana is blooming and filling the terrace with its heavenly scent. And more wallflowers have emerged on the allotment.

DSCN6139

8 Comments leave one →
  1. January 28, 2016 3:51 pm

    I sowed my first batch of peas a few weeks but the seed was old and germination terrible; I bought more seed and they germinated in a few days. Because the packs of pea seed are quite large here I try to grow a lot as pea shoots as it means the seed isn’t wasted. I intend serving peas in three ways when my crop of peas begins; shoots, mange tout and peas. I’ll probably sow more tomorrow as I like to have the shoots in salads too, haven’t tried a risotto but that’s a good idea. thanks!

  2. January 28, 2016 7:47 pm

    Your peas are such a refreshing sign that spring is out there in our future.

  3. January 30, 2016 5:43 pm

    Yes by my reckoning it’s 4 weeks away. Very cold here today though.

  4. January 31, 2016 9:31 am

    What a brilliant idea! I’m definitely going to try pea shoots in my tulip pots. And wait for my risotto.

    • January 31, 2016 10:20 am

      Hi Abigail

      Great to hear from you and yes a fast bit of edible gardening for a very wet month. Hope you are well.

  5. January 31, 2016 3:36 pm

    Wow. I can’t believe how quickly those peas have grown. Enjoy them! Your wallflowers are much more advanced than mine. I bet they smell delicious.

  6. January 31, 2016 4:10 pm

    The wallflowers were sown from seed last April and started flowering in early December such is the confusing weather. Welcome nonetheless.

Leave a Reply

