Skip to content

Globe Artichokes

February 11, 2016

Twice in the last year I’ve blogged about growing globe artichokes from seed and both attempts got to the healthy and substantial seedling stage. But planted out on the allotment they disappeared devoured by slugs or because of a wet summer they succumbed to root rot.  So I’ve bought 6 plug plants of Cynara ‘Violet de Provence’ from Bradfield Seeds

DSCN6194I plan to nurture them very carefully to get the roots huge and established before planting out on the allotment in summer. Or they may be planted in a container in the garden here with gravel in the base to control the watering.

artichoke de provence

The peas are now sown in two plastic gutters which have been drilled along the base for drainage. And the ends have been secured with gaffer tape and polystyrene rather than spending on commercial guttering ends.DSCN6184

I also sowed four peas each in ten 9 cm pots…

DSCN6182

 

…and these will be planted in a clump every 10 cm or so in rows. They’ll need to be at least 15 cm tall before planting out.

The gorgeous cream tulips came from the supermarket and the jug from eBay so there was a bit of creativity in the shopping but not in the growing …

DSCN6186

9 Comments leave one →
  1. February 11, 2016 7:19 pm

    All the best with Violet de Provence, sounds divine. I love globe artichokes they are so decorative if left to flower or so delicious fresh if picked earlier. I sow my peas in gutters too & use tape! God bless Geoff Hamilton, which is where I think I saw it first.

  2. February 11, 2016 8:40 pm

    This looks like a fabulous approach, I am going to try this as well this summer.

  3. February 12, 2016 8:50 pm

    I like the look of those ‘Violet de Provence’. I am steeling myself to dig out a large clump of globe artichoke that have taken over one of the raised beds and now seem to produce only small (but pretty) heads. I’ll be interested to know how you get on.

    • March 4, 2016 2:18 pm

      Sorry your comment went into an automatic delete box too. I will be happy to get a clump of globe artichokes I just love the look of them.

  4. February 15, 2016 11:30 am

    Go for it! Home grown artichokes–a pleasure dream–spent too many summer seasons in Morocco at the veg markets–shopping for just cut long stemmed artichokes–just a memory now; but looking forward to your progress reports!

Leave a Reply

