Skip to content

Spring is in the Air

February 18, 2016

DSCN6209

The Ephorbia mellifera was hit by frost two weeks ago and was looking very sorry for itself but today it’s full of healthy pinkish-brown flower buds ready to fill the air with the scent of honey in May.

DSCN6210

My favourite evergreen the woodland spurge Euphorbia robbiae has colonised the ground under the beech hedges.  Acid green flowers emerge from dark green rosettes and will flower until June/July – simply gorgeous.

DSCN6221

The primrose Primula vulgaris is such a sweet flower with the loveliest nature surviving frost and rain to bloom this month.  It’s in the wild border in the garden where I hope it will spread. It’s mingling with some handsome foxgloves not yet in flower.

DSCN6222

A lovely gardener gave me some snowdrops in the green and I’ve separated them and planted clumps under the Amelanchier shrubs to add interest in the wild border.

DSCN6212

Reluctant to pick the hellebores  I sacrificed a few daffodils from this pretty clump flowering against the stone wall.DSCN6230

 

 

 

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 19, 2016 3:59 pm

    I’ve heard planting snowdrops in the green is really the best way. My bulbs have been unsuccessful. Your daffodils look so pretty in those blue vases.

  2. February 19, 2016 4:40 pm

    Yes snowdrops do very well from a clump that has recently flowered and I am told they’ll spread. I’m so pleased with the daffs and the sweet little vases- it doesn’t take much to get pleasure from a few simple blooms.

  3. February 19, 2016 5:56 pm

    Glad your Euphorbia mellifera bounced back and you can look forward to that delicious smell. I have a couple of Euphorbia stygiana that had grown far too large, so they were hacked back hard in October. I was pleased to see that they have lots of new buds forming … so I didn’t kill them, but I am not sure that I’ll get flowers this year.

  4. February 19, 2016 6:20 pm

    No you’ll probably miss the flowers this year but at least the hard prune will benefit the plant.

Leave a Reply

