Skip to content

Spuds, Peas and Beans

March 24, 2016

Easter is traditionally the time for planting potatoes and although it’s early this year I’ve planted mine this week.  I need the space at home and Mozart,  a new variety with yellow flesh and described as a good all rounder, has produced some lovely long shoots … DSCN6303

Charlottes, Lady Christo and Caro all purchased in smallish quantities from the allotment shop were also ready to be planted. Apologies in advance if I provoke a blizzard in the south west over the next few weeks.

The A frames are also up and soon will be draped in jute netting to support the tall purple peas which are a new crop for this year and these have germinated well in two trays…

DSCN6305

Three rows of broad beans are now in the ground…DSCN6308

 

Seeds of cucumber ‘Tasty King ‘ an F1 hybrid  described as early and high yielding, germinated in five days in the heated propagator. They’ll be grown in the greenhouse and then more will be sown in April to plant outdoors in May…cucumber

Six clumps of Helleborus niger full of stunning white flowers  is adding drama to the shady end of the garden…DSCN6314

And outside the kitchen door the Osmanthus x burkwoodii is blooming at nose level and smelling sweetly of jasmine…

DSCN6306

Inside the kitchen door on the table a pot of ‘Thalia’ daffodils are just beginning to open.  These were lifted four weeks ago from the cut flower bed on the allotment to clear the ground for the greenhouse hence the rather leafy clump. But six flowers have emerged with their heady tones rather similar to ‘Paperwhites’. It naturalises well so it will be planted in the garden when the flowers are over…

DSCN6310

9 Comments leave one →
  1. March 24, 2016 10:55 am

    Full speed ahead then! It’s been so much cooler than last year that my peas and broad beans are growing very slowly, I planted them out a month ago.

  2. March 24, 2016 2:02 pm

    You’re streets ahead of me, although I do have peas and cucumbers up. As Christina noted, the peas have taken ages.

  3. March 24, 2016 3:12 pm

    Germination varies so much even from the same seed packet.

  4. March 24, 2016 5:09 pm

    Peas are slow here too. I’m pleased to see you’ve sown you’re potatoes, even if Easter is early that’s when I like to get mine in too. No blizzards, please!

  5. March 25, 2016 4:02 pm

    I usually wait until my potatoes have got good sprouts on them before planting and they’re being really slow this year so I might just get on with planting them. It would be nice to have some decent weather over the weekend to get a few jobs done but I’m fearing the worst. It’ll be indoor seed sowing for me!

    • March 26, 2016 8:45 am

      Monty on GW on friday said potatoes could be planted without sprouts and a worthwhile crop would emerge. Yes awful forecast so indoor seed sowing is a very good option.

  6. March 25, 2016 5:37 pm

    How wonderful to be so organised! Although I have beans and tomatoes up, I’ve done nothing else yet. Much depends on me emptying the compost bin into the raised beds. It’s a job to do this holiday. Thalia is one of my favourite narcissus.

  7. March 26, 2016 8:47 am

    I think I was prompted by an email saying allotment inspections would be carried out in the last week of March. Approval seeker moi !!

Leave a Reply

