Skip to content

Alliums and Roses

May 18, 2016

Looking back towards the house through a bed of Allium multibulbosum in early evening light…

DSCN6564

Allium siculum shedding its protective papery-white sheath…

DSCN6572

The deep crimson Darcey Bussell rose planted in October flowering with masses more buds to open…

DSCN6574

And on a practical note I discovered this in Poundland. It was light as a feather to bring home and after adding 3 litres of warm water it filled a large flower-pot with compost. It’s too coarse to sow seeds in but perfect for planting seedlings and so easy to transport…

DSCN6547

Late Spring/early summer is a good time to propagate shrubs from softwood and semi-hardwood cuttings. I would love a bigger bed of Viburnum opulus for cut flowers so I took some cuttings…

DSCN6513

Method Choose a healthy, semi-hardwood stem and using sharp secateurs cut this into 15-20 cm lengths. Remove all  the leaves from each stem and trim just above a bud and just below the lowest bud leaving a cut 5 cm long along the lowest length before dipping it in hormone rooting powder. Pot individually into small pots of fresh seed compost. Water and cover with a polythene bag and keep away from direct sun in damp compost till they have rooted.

Here in a green glass jug is why I want more Viburnum opulus especially to pick with Saxifraga ‘London Pride’ which seeds itself all over the place …DSCN6579

And I seared the end of several Welsh poppies over a gas flame and here they are still looking good on day three…

DSCN6583

8 Comments leave one →
  1. May 18, 2016 4:12 pm

    What effectively simple but really clever and lovely vases. No wonder you’d like more viburnum. S.London Pride works so well your vase, as do the yellow poppies.

    • May 18, 2016 4:15 pm

      Thanks Kate-I was especially pleased with the Welsh poppies that stayed looking perky for three days.

  2. May 19, 2016 7:04 am

    I love Viburnum opulus and would love some here. I think Viburnum are one of the most amazing species so many different forms and some are wonderfully scented. I buy coconut fibre blocks from Ikea which are so easy to transport and store, I usually mix it with other compost but it really encourages good root growth.

    • May 19, 2016 7:56 am

      Gosh I had no idea that ikea was selling similar-I shall look next time I visit. And that’s a good idea to mix it with a finer compost to extend the use.

  3. May 19, 2016 10:17 pm

    That’s a great tip for the Welsh poppies. There are loads of them here which would look perfect in a vase. Trouble is I have no gas. Candle flame?

    • May 26, 2016 6:59 pm

      Yes candle flame should do it. It’s simply sealing the stem to keep the moisture in I guess.Try it!

  4. May 26, 2016 6:40 pm

    I was going to tell you about the Ikea blocks but instead I’ll just say that I had no idea that Poundland did them too!! I find the Ikea coir blocks very handy as they take up very little space and are light to carry up to my second floor flat! I’ve found the blocks make nice light compost for seeds as well as cuttings but are low on nutrients so need to be mixed with soil for potting on. It would be perfect for your Viburnum cuttings as it holds water well at root level.

  5. May 26, 2016 7:00 pm

    I think I used it for the Viburnum cuttings and I’ll give them a feed with some Growmore.

Leave a Reply

