Skip to content

Glorious Roses

June 15, 2016

DSCN6780

June is for roses and I’m over my fantasy of limiting the garden to white and green plants-well in summer at least.  Madame Isaac Pereire (above) kicked off my conversion and I hope to train this rose to climb and line the wall to mingle with the purple vine Vitis purpurea. The garden is now full of roses: soft pink, strong reds, dramatic maroons and all chosen for their scent.  Below Ferdinand Pichard a repeat-flowering old rose opened this week.

DSCN4769

And above it to one side Rosa Veilchenblau.

DSCN6781

R.Felicia a hybrid musk with a strong fragrance has been in the garden for several years and this summer has a gorgeous profusion of flowers.

DSCN6789

Another old resident Rosa rubrifolia is a great rose for cutting with simple open flowers and remarkable purple/pink leaves.

DSCN6793

In my neighbour’s garden  the wild R. Complicata with its brilliant pink petals and large stamens is a robust and trouble-free rose.

DSCN6772

As is the climber Blush Noisette with a clove scent and the promise of repeat flowers.

DSCN6806The modern shrub rose Cerise Bouquet seems to have turned into a climber. It has clambered into her walnut tree and is in bloom high up in the branches.

DSCN6802

I’ve picked three vases this week of roses and Nepeta ‘Six Hills Giant’ and put them with a pretty white- flowered weed with no name.

DSCN6794

A shady corner caught my eye with a very lush Hydrangea petiolaris in flower and lining the wall in deep shade. It is suspended over a Dryopteris affinis ‘Cristata’ fern.

DSCN6755-001

In an inspired experiment I cut three stems of the hydrangea for a vase and they are still looking good four days later. I love the greenness against a favourite very green oil painting.

DSCN6786

On the allotment Autumn King carrots have been sown and more Squash seeds pushed into the ground. All the onions are now lifted and drying but the garlic was hit by leek rust and only one row of the three was salvageable. I brought all the garlic plants home to destroy rather than composting and just hope that my recently planted leeks don’t get hit.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. June 15, 2016 9:11 am

    sue – my garlic gets rust almost annually, but it is delicious and I am eating last year’s crop still – the flavour and keeping seem unimpaired… x

    • June 15, 2016 9:45 am

      That’s good to know. Do you make an effort to not put any of the foliage in the compost as Sue suggests. I usually bin mine.

  2. June 15, 2016 9:28 am

    Beautiful roses and I liked that you said they were chosen for their perfume. I think roses growing up into trees and then draping down has to be one of the most beautiful garden sights. My garlic also has some rust this year, I think I’ll be able to use the crop but I do have problems with onions always (I decided not to grow any at all this year after last year’s disastrous crop).

    • June 15, 2016 9:34 am

      Hi Christina have a look at Sue Deakin’s comment regarding rust. She’s an outstanding veg grower and says rust is regular on her allotment and doesn’t spoil the crop.Yes the perfume of roses is summer for me.

  3. June 15, 2016 9:31 am

    Hi Sue

    The two rows that I discarded were soft and soggy and smelt unpleasant so they had to be chucked. But I will now feel confident about the remaining crop although having seen the size of your garlic I shall hide them when next you visit!!

  4. June 15, 2016 9:58 am

    Your roses are looking superb. As were ours until a couple of days ago when we started to get torrential rain, they’re a bit sorry for themselves now 😦

  5. June 15, 2016 10:09 am

    They had a bit of a soaking recently but I’ve just dead-headed and the forecast for the weekend is high pressure!!

  6. June 20, 2016 2:23 pm

    Photos and fragrance…I only have memories for the fragrance…but your beautiful photos trigger pleasant rose fragrance memories. Thank you.

  7. June 20, 2016 4:46 pm

    Images of roses do somehow stir the senses and memories of their powerful scent is then triggered.

  8. June 20, 2016 5:31 pm

    The roses look beautiful.

  9. June 21, 2016 6:53 pm

    They are and I would always want roses in my garden.

Leave a Reply

